View the Trailer
Advertisement
Movie Reviews
American Hustle

American Hustle

Cast:

Release Date: Fri, Dec 20, 2013

MPAA Rating: R

Share
Tweet
email Email
Print
Advertisement

Comments (11)

Leave a comment
  1. Ron Kolb  •  Dec 28, 2013 at 4:40 pm

    Mr. Medved refers to the wife of the conman as “nutty and unpredictable” but is well aware that the real Marie Weinberg had come forward and exposed her husband Mel Weinberg’s misdeeds during Abscam on national TV. She apparently committed suicide after nearly three months of both public and private harassment from her husband. Mr. Medved is also aware that Mr. Weinberg is involved with the movie and is profiting from it, but continues to recommend the film.

    • Craig Marks  •  Mar 1, 2014 at 11:56 am

      So Mr. Kolb I assume you were there and know all of this as the truth? Are you saying because Mr. Weinberg was involved in the making of the movie that somehow Mr. Medved should not review the movie and if he does that he should not recommend the film? Based upon Mr. Weinberg not being a good guy? We know Mr. Weinberg is not a good guy based upon the movie … that is the point of telling a story … the good, the bad, and the ugly.

  2. APRIL LINDAMOOD  •  Dec 30, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    I listened to the review, Mr. Medved said “mostly’ true. I didn’t care if it was true or fiction it was great. It deserves 4 stars. All 4 actors in the major roles should win all the awards for the years movies. I was really impressed.

  3. Arga  •  Jan 5, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    Good movie. Deserves 4 stars. Recommend

  4. emily  •  Jan 8, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    Was definitely worth seeing it, if not solely for the performances of Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Cooper, Renner, and especially Jennifer Lawrence. Go, go, go.

  5. Kathleen  •  Jan 9, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    Great movie! Acting was tremendous especially by Christian Bale and Amy Adams.

  6. John K  •  Jan 11, 2014 at 6:28 am

    I was surprised by how much I really enjoyed this movie. Great acting, good story, great sound track. I think it will appeal to a wide audience. It was fun, go see it.

  7. Cobabe  •  Apr 9, 2014 at 10:53 am

    Judd Appatow came out with a movie called This Is 40. American Hustle could have been called This Is 40 Minutes Too Long. Most of this movie was back story with some hustle at the very end. I wouldn’t have minded if they hustled to get there faster.

  8. Remo Biagioni  •  Jul 18, 2014 at 11:47 am

    This was a great period piece movie which captured the mood of the late 1970s. While Jennifer Lawrence, Christian Bale and Amy Adams got most of the positive press, I thought Jeremy Renner was truly outstanding in a sympathetic portrayal of the mayor of Camden, NJ.

  9. Bruce McKechnie  •  Aug 16, 2014 at 9:21 pm

    Yeah, yeah, the acting may have been really swell and the story “mostly true” but what an ultimately depressing flick. Everybody’s lying to everybody, everyone is living a morally screwed up life. The ending is simply which thieves wind up on top. This is the seduction for reviewers (like Michael) who normally exhibit a moral compass: you rate a movie like this on its technical qualities and ignore the morality of the flick. At the end of American Hustle I felt like I had to take a bath.

  10. Patrick Fallon  •  Sep 21, 2015 at 1:12 am

    Great movie great story telling,acting its like classic Scorsese minus the graphic violence which I think is why some of my friends didn’t like it oh well there loss.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Advertisement
Hear what Michael has to say about Health Markets
Advertisement
Advertisement
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn