View the Trailer
Advertisement
Movie Reviews
bridge poster

Bridge of Spies

Cast: Tom Hanks, Mark Rylance, Alan Alda

Release Date: Fri, Oct 16, 2015

MPAA Rating: PG-13

Buy Now Amazon
Share
Tweet
email Email
Print
Advertisement

Comments (8)

Leave a comment
  1. Dan  •  Oct 16, 2015 at 7:28 pm

    I agree with MM on this film. I visited East Berlin in 1965. Spielberg captured how grim it was. If you saw the wall and what was behind it, one could never think the Cold War was a matter of moral equivalence.

    What has happened to the Democratic Party?

    • Frank  •  Sep 10, 2016 at 11:11 am

      Nothing has happened to the Democratic party. It is the Republican nominee that has become chummy with Russian strong men.

  2. Josh  •  Oct 29, 2015 at 12:37 pm

    Saw this with my dad, who is a history buff. We both agreed with Medved; it was a compelling drama, and the 2 1/2 hr run time flies right by!

  3. Scott  •  Nov 16, 2015 at 11:59 am

    I couldn’t agree more. I have no idea what happened after an hour of the movie because my wife and I walked out. I can’t take any more of Hollyweird elites like Spielberg and Hanks depicting the United States as the sinister bad guys and the despicables such as the 1962 Russians as the good guys. Cases in point: 1) Abel – what a sweet, cuddly little guy! So he’s a Russian spy. He’s just doing his job. C’mon! Those FBI goons were all just meanies. They were all played as thick-necked scowling thugs. A Russian KGB colonel was played as a lovable old uncle type. That’s as far from the truth as can be imagined, folks; 2) Tom Hanks scoffs at his son’s fear of thermonuclear war … ahhhh, that’ll never happen! I guess the Cuban missile crisis never happened, right, Tom and Steven? 3) the newly selected U2 pilots were depicted as slow-witted dolts. In my career, I’ve had the pleasure of dealing closely with US Air Force pilots and let me tell you, they are sharp, brilliant young men, nothing like the duh boys the movie would have you believe; 4) the sinister and evil CIA man who subtly threatens Hanks’ character. Yeah, right. Again, the kindly KGB guy isn’t the threat, it’s that nasty agency trying to protect us. UGH.
    So we walked, I’m proud to say.

    • Scott  •  Nov 19, 2015 at 2:01 pm

      My comments of Nov. 16 should’ve started with “I couldn’t DISagree more.”

    • gershon  •  Nov 28, 2015 at 4:08 pm

      I agree with your assessment of the movie. I am surprised that MM doesn’t bring up how positive the bad guys are represented, and how bad the good guys are presented.

    • Patricia Simon  •  Dec 15, 2015 at 11:18 pm

      Too bad you walked out and didn’t complete the movies’ objective- 2 for 1. Quite masterful how it was conducted before Gary Powers caved and the American grad student Pryor got disregarded and left behind in East Berlin. I agree 4 stars, no less.

  4. Patricia Simon  •  Dec 15, 2015 at 11:43 pm

    My German born and raised husband found the movie very authentic in its depiction of Berlin and the spy exchange. The shooting down of Powers’ U-2 plane was over dramatized and maybe added too much suspense. Actually the plane suffered engine troubles and Powers had to drop from 70,000 feet to lower elevation at which point he was within missile contact and then brought down over Soviet territory. Staggers my mind that the U-@ pilots had orders to kill themselves if caught. My take away was the expression spoken by Abel, “Standing Man” as seen in the integrity to one’s oath of allegiance or code of honor to their country (Abel and Powers) or constitution (Jim Downing). Attorney Jim Downing was an Atticus Finch in his defense of Abel and basic human dignity. Bridge of Spies will not be easily forgotten.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Advertisement
Hear what Michael has to say about Health Markets
Advertisement
Advertisement
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn