View the Trailer
Advertisement
Movie Reviews
Gone Girl

Gone Girl

Cast: Ben Affleck, Rosamund Pike, Neil Patrick Harris

Release Date: Fri, Oct 3, 2014

MPAA Rating: R

Share
Tweet
email Email
Print
Advertisement

Comments (9)

Leave a comment
  1. Dave  •  Oct 4, 2014 at 7:40 am

    An incredibly good spell-binding movie. Rosamund Pike steals the show and is gorgeous.

  2. Paul  •  Oct 5, 2014 at 9:03 am

    Entertaining throughout. Plenty of plot twists ( and holes ). Casting of the wooden Neil Patrick Harris was Finchers only misstep.

  3. Lee  •  Oct 8, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    First 3/4 of the movie: 5 stars. Amazing shot, acted, directed, and kept me guessing in a way a thriller should.

    Last 1/4: no stars. All of a sudden I’m watching a national lampoon version of a social commentary film with incredibly dark humor, sick/twisted violence, and terrible over-acting by both leading actors. The social commentary was tired. The violence was totally unnecessary. The husband/wife dynamic was hilariously over-wrought.

    The ending totally killed this movie. NPH should have passed on this one, which makes me think they editing something key out of his performance.

    The final scene, that was supposed no doubt to be a nod to Hitchcock, felt more like a farce.

  4. Keith  •  Oct 10, 2014 at 2:12 pm

    Although generally entertaining with several plot twists, the movie was plodding throughout and the characters so outrageously flawed and artificial that we didn’t empathize with any of them.

    • Cristian P.  •  Oct 15, 2014 at 1:43 pm

      That’s the point. You’re not supposed to sympathize with any of them. The story is a sadistic satire on narcissism in relationships (mostly marriage). It’s not supposed to be a happy story, more of story that makes you think about your own relationships, particularly if you’re married.

  5. Darkstar  •  Oct 10, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    lame. Yeah, there’s plot twists, yeah beautifully shot, but just plain disturbing. Deserved X rating for the violence. I was not interested in any of the characters and others besides me thought movie interminably long.

  6. Keith Stamler  •  Oct 12, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    After sitting through this movie, and trying to figure out what the ending was all about (just the story of a psychotic woman?) I asked several people in the theatre if they liked it, and what happened in the end. They ALL responded, “well, I read the book, it ends the same way”. So?

  7. Michael  •  Dec 31, 2014 at 1:01 am

    I was surprised at how intriguing the movie was ……long but kept my attention. Then the ending was an absolute blowout pile of stupidity. Like why did I waste two hours of my life.

  8. Jack  •  Apr 15, 2015 at 3:51 pm

    C’mon. The whole premise of the movie was given away in the first 10 minutes. This movie was advertised as suspense, with the big question – did he or didn;t he kill his wife? So, there is no intrique or suspense if you know for sure right off the bat! You people that seen it, think about it, remember the very beginning – an obvious gaping hole in directorial logic! 3 stars? Medved, you disappoint.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Advertisement
Hear what Michael has to say about Health Markets
Advertisement
Advertisement
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn