View the Trailer
Advertisement
Movie Reviews
Gravity

Gravity

Cast: Sandra Bullock, George Clooney, Ed Harris

Release Date: Fri, Oct 4, 2013

MPAA Rating: PG-13

Buy Now Amazon
Share
Tweet
email Email
Print
Advertisement

Comments (10)

Leave a comment
  1. Michael in Cleveland  •  Oct 22, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    Saw the movie tonight. I believe this kind of movie is the beginning of a new era of space cinema. Not much of a plot but eye candy galor. The human condition to never give up inspires, and that is a key ingredient to agreat movie.

  2. Joan in Wa. state  •  Oct 24, 2013 at 11:43 pm

    Recently saw the movie,too. Not the 3D version. The special effects were great. Very hard to pull off a one person show. Sandra was great, but not enough Clooney.

  3. patrick cleary  •  Nov 3, 2013 at 9:08 pm

    Just saw this movie. I would rather have had root canal! It was awful! Zero plot, Sandra Bullock was totally miscast and not believable at all. She is a total helpless dufus throughout the movie. Are you kidding me? Astronauts are the best of the best & fully prepared for almost any calamity to be encountered. Clooney was a joke. Nothing worse than when you are about to die, to just crack jokes like it’s no big deal. Don’t waste your money as it will be on TV very quickly!

  4. Eric Moore  •  Dec 20, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    Very overrated. I’ll give it points for not being platitude, but the movie itself was boring and Bullocks performance was overrated. Clooney on the other hand was fabulous – what little you saw of him before they killed off his character (sorry for the spoiler, but this movie isn’t worth seeing to begin with).

  5. Chris  •  Mar 1, 2014 at 2:01 pm

    This movie was fantastic. IMAX 3-D was very well done. Almost found myself hyper-ventilating with the main character. I could not disagree more with those who claim “no plot.” Really? Chain reaction sends debris hurtling through space station repair attempt, destroying shuttle and station; only the chance for one survivor; incredible resourcefulness and courage required to pull it off (not to mention a lot of luck/divine intervention). Themes of sacrifice, letting go of the past, learning to trust God (spoiler: her simple “Thank you” at the end was the resolution of her frustration of never having been taught to pray). Some other commentator mocked Clooney’s character for joking in the face of death. Well, I think it was totally in character and very admirable. He was a seasoned astronaut who knew the risks he took every time he ventured into space. He considered his unavoidable death to be a small price to pay for the rare opportunities he had been blessed with. He was concerned with comforting and encouraging Sandra’s character rather than fixating on his own demise. I’m sure the feeling of actually being in space will be somewhat lost on the small screen, but the story itself still makes it worth watching at home.

  6. Mike Morris  •  Apr 27, 2014 at 2:43 pm

    How in God’s name can Medved rate this 5-stars???? Did he not see it? Was he sleeping? Total piece of crap?? Please….give me a break!!

  7. Mike Morris  •  Apr 27, 2014 at 2:45 pm

    Totally agree with patrick cleary, except for one point. Not even worth watching on TV for free??

  8. Smitty  •  May 3, 2014 at 11:08 pm

    I went over to the computer to play a much more entertaining game of Tetris at about the 20 minute point in the movie. I might rate it a 1.5 out of 4 stars. I was holding out hope that at the end of the movie when she was swimming to shore, a great white shark would attack and eat her. When that didn’t happen and she finally reached the shoreline, for sure a primitive cannibal tribe would do her in. Wow, not even an interesting ending….it just kind of faded to dark and then the closing credits appear. Apollo 13 ran circles around this movie.

  9. Michael Atkisson  •  Jun 24, 2014 at 1:45 am

    Totally Boring. Totally one dimensional. Nothing interesting. Just one desperate life threatening situation after another. Best part of this movie was when it was over and I didn’t have to watch it anymore.

  10. Wayne Boyd  •  Aug 21, 2015 at 12:43 pm

    To Patrick Cleary as to Bullocks character. She WAS NOT AN ASTRONAUT: she only had 6 months training to allow her to go into space to fix the telescope. She was an inventor or researcher or scientist–her job was to install something she had developed at a hospital. So, her fumbling was do to her inexperience. It might be the movie bored you to the point your brain and memory shut down. My thought: ” This guy won for best director?” Ok movie, but not what a lot of people are saying about it.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Advertisement
Hear what Michael has to say about Health Markets
Advertisement
Advertisement
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn