View the Trailer
Movie Reviews

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Cast: Ian McKellen, Martin Freeman, Richard Armitage

Release Date: Fri, Dec 13, 2013

MPAA Rating: PG-13

Buy Now Amazon
email Email

Comments (10)

Leave a comment
  1. marci  •  Dec 16, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    Hi Michael, I usually agree and respect all of what you say as far as politics and movie reviews, however, I was very disappointed today hearing you speaking of the “so called” conspiracy of vaccines. You obviously haven’t done your homework.

  2. Bart Thomassen  •  Dec 17, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    The horror the horror! I hated this movie. It was filled from start to finish with commentary, characters and events that have nothing to do with the Hobbit. It is obvious that the only motive in making the film(s) was revenue. An attempt to squeeze the most out of a single book and then invent whatever else, simply to fill up time. The one star I do allot is for the Dragon which is cool, but overall way too much CGI to the detriment of the story. Too bad, I’m soooooo sad.

  3. Sonja McDonald  •  Dec 17, 2013 at 7:27 pm

    We just returned from seeing the film called The Book Thief. We recommend the film! I could not find a review of The Book Thief from you, Michael. I am wondering why you don’t have a review on your website. Hoping a lot of people will see The Book Thief.

  4. Ray Lammers  •  Dec 20, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    As an unapologetic Tolkien enthusiast I would like to dissagree with your review but I cannot. Wonderful, distrustful but good-hearted characters from the book were turned into drab, grim and dour malcontents. What was an organic adventure filled with highs and lows, virtues and evils is now a non-stop zombie horror flick, with a new zombie behind each turn. Evidence of the the amature storyteller is rampant throughout.

  5. Fred Loeper  •  Dec 21, 2013 at 7:24 am

    I haven’t seen the 2nd installment of “The Hobbit,” not will I. I even intend to toss the dvd of the first movie. Peter Jackson should be ashamed of himself. He took one of the greatest and most beloved books of all time and turned into a mere money making enterprise. I will not participate. Peter Jackson now joins the ranks of David Lynch who destroyed “Dune.” If I were a hit man I’d be busy for the next couple of months.

    • Cory Mack  •  Jan 16, 2014 at 3:33 pm

      you’re a schmuck.

  6. Eric Moore  •  Jan 5, 2014 at 10:59 pm

    Excellent movie. It was not written to follow the exact storyline of the book, Peter Jackson was upfront about this. I thought he did a great job with his adaptation. Much better than the first Hobbit movie.

  7. Hunter Krebel  •  Feb 8, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    Okay, I’m surprised at the amount of negativity these comments have. Desolation of Smaug was a really good adaptation! The story was adapted really well, the acting is solid all around, and it definitely left me excited to see the final adaptation of the story. Only criticism is that Beorn was in it for about 10 minutes.

  8. kick  •  Feb 25, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    I didn’t see part 2 of “The Hobbit” because part 1 was one of the worst films I’ve ever seen.

    And I was far from alone in thinking this because The Hobbit was universally declared “Worst” movie of 2012 by other reviewers.

    So why bother commenting upon a film series that ranks down at the bottom of the heap of worst ever with along with Star Wars and Jaws?

    At least I can give this much back for what was taken from me for stupidly suffering all the way through part 1.

  9. James Beckham  •  Oct 23, 2015 at 7:41 am

    This was the terrible follow-up to a spectacular movie. This film had no soul, it was a CGI-crap fest. Non-stop violence, almost no story, and Smaug himself was a MAJOR disappointment. Oh yeah, hope you love watching Dwarves get chased by a dragon for an entire hour, for that’s what you’ll get in this awful movie.

    Rating: 1/2 star out of 5

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
free autographed copy of Michael Medved's new book

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.


The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn