View the Trailer
Advertisement
Movie Reviews
Interstellar

Interstellar

Cast: Matthew McConaughey, Anne Hathaway, Jessica Chastain

Release Date: Fri, Nov 7, 2014

MPAA Rating: PG-13

Buy Now Amazon
Share
Tweet
email Email
Print
Advertisement

Comments (8)

Leave a comment
  1. kick  •  Nov 9, 2014 at 6:28 am

    Matthew McConaughey is a one–dimensional actor who always portrays himself.

    It’s as if McConaughey imagines his entire life is a Spaghetti Western recreation of a moronic version of Clint Eastwood.

    And if not, this is exactly how McConaughey is perceived.

    Admit it Michael: A “1 Star” rating would have been a very generous assessment of the film considering the drag factor of McConaughey.

  2. Robert Scott  •  Nov 10, 2014 at 5:37 pm

    Richard Roeper gave this film an A+. I have not seen this movie but your thumbs down review raises my eye brows for sure. I’ll probably see it this summer for the first time on DVD.

  3. Carolyn Saulls  •  Nov 11, 2014 at 11:22 am

    Great idea for a story but the story line didn’t develop with authentic scientific believability. I kept thinking they were missing saying important things which immediately made me think they just wanted the sensational without acknowledging the proper development, where you answer obvious questions the viewer has.. I also wanted more depth to the story for the interactions of the characters.

  4. Robert Montague  •  Nov 12, 2014 at 10:24 am

    Interstellar is one of the top 5 best movies I have ever seen in my life. I would like to see this movie again in an IMAX format. I have only deigned to see one movie more than once in my life and that was the 1968 Zeffirelli production of Romeo and Juliet. Though not a McConaughey fan before the movie, I am now. His emotional responses while viewing his children’s transmissions from Earth and knowing they were older than he due to relativistic effects was intense and real. This was his best performance and his movie is the 2001: A Space Odyssey for the 21st century and will similarly endure.

  5. Dennis Griffin  •  Nov 13, 2014 at 1:39 pm

    In your original review you talked about the distraction and interference of the score – I heartily concur – to my senior citizen ears the music covered much of the dialogue making an otherwise intriguing film more mysterious than it needed to be.

  6. Stein Franken  •  Nov 15, 2014 at 12:57 pm

    My wife and I saw the movie last night with some friends. We all came out of the movie scratching our heads. It seems like all the cast played their parts well, including Matthew McConaughey. However, the script and directing were, as Michael Medved says, so incoherent that one wonders what the writers, producer, and director were trying to say. If it was supposed to be a story of redemption, it certainly failed to strike any chord in that regard. If it was to be a story about family connection, perhaps even like Mel Gibson’s movie “Signs”, it failed.

    Cinematically, it was at times spectacular, but story-wise, it failed to have much resonance.

  7. David Ingram  •  Nov 16, 2014 at 10:56 am

    The movie seemed to start out pretty decent but as the plot became less believable and coherent, the movie really drug on. I wish I could have put myself in cryogenic sleep for the last hour of this 3 hour waste of time. If I was not with my wife on a date I would have walked out due to total boredom.

  8. Bob Hawkins  •  Nov 21, 2014 at 1:25 am

    A muddled mess of a film. Incomplete character development, a patchwork script, and pretentiousness abounding. I was always conscious of watching stars acting…be it Anne Hathaway, Mathew McConaughey or John Lithgow. Some of the visuals were very effective, but special effects will never substitute for a believable story well told. A largely tortuous almost 3 hrs. Oh and of course the underlying theme was that of course humankind had screwed up the planet..more climate change preachiness and self flagellation courtesy of our Hollywood know betters.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Advertisement
Hear what Michael has to say about Health Markets
Advertisement
Advertisement
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn