Advertisement
Movie Reviews

La La Land

Cast: Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone, Rosemarie DeWitt

Release Date: Fri, Dec 9, 2016

MPAA Rating: PG-13

Buy Now Amazon
Share
Tweet
email Email
Print
Advertisement

Comments (7)

Leave a comment
  1. Richard Milczarek  •  Jan 1, 2017 at 9:08 pm

    Michael, 4 Stars for a musical romance, but the musical composer is not even listed in the Movies.com Cast/Crew for the movie!!! What kind of movie in this genre doesn't even bother to list the Composer of the music? Seriously???
    If you go to the La La Land Review at Movies.com, they name the Hair Stylist as Jacklin Masteran, the 2nd Assistant Director as Paula Case, but NO MUSICAL COMPOSER!!! Sorry, I'm not going to a musical that doesn't even bother to credit, acknowledge and list the Composer by name.

    To prove to you that movies.com actually did this, here's the FULL SYNOPSIS for this movie (see below), in which the
    Composer is NOT even listed by name (cf http://www.movies.com/la-la-land/details/m71046):
    FULL SYNOPSIS

    Struggling actress Mia (Emma Stone) and aspiring jazz pianist Sebastian (Ryan Gosling) begin a whirlwind romance as they both pursue their dreams in Los Angeles. However, their blossoming relationship is challenged when their careers pull them in different directions. Damien Chazelle (Whiplash) wrote and directed this musical love story, which co-stars John Legend, J.K. Simmons, and Rosemarie DeWitt. ~ Daniel Gelb, Rovi

    MY PARTING OBSERVATIONS:
    Movies.com bragged about the awards this movie has been nominated for; however, of the 9 awards/nominations, not a
    single one was for a musical song or for the music in general. What does that say about the quality of music in this film??

    IS THERE ANY MUSIC IN THIS MUSICAL? WHERE'S THE MUSIC? WHO WROTE THE MUSIC? WHO'S THE COMPOSER???

    • Richard Milczarek  •  Jan 1, 2017 at 10:47 pm

      There IS a musical composer for "La La Land." It is Justin Hurwitz, who previously composed music for Whiplash.
      They did a good job of burying the credit for him, but I finally did locate him in IMDB (thank you).

      Now that I know that this movie DOES have a musical composer, I will be happy to be a viewer of "La La Land."
      My apologies to Michael Medved.
      Now, I hope we all disover the next Victor Young or Jerry Goldsmith – FINGERS CROSSED !!!

  2. Wo  •  Jan 3, 2017 at 6:28 pm

    Watched this horrid movie last week. Michael, you must be taking the wrong medications. The absolute worst movie I have ever seen and I like musicals. They can't sing, there isn't a song or tune even remotely memorable and the plot, what little there is of it, is beyond mundane. Not even One Star, but a half star at best. Simply one of the worst wastes of two hours I can ever imagine.

    • Richard Milczarek  •  Jan 3, 2017 at 7:43 pm

      I finally saw the movie La La Land, and I give it 2 1/2 stars (out of 4).
      The acting and choreography were excellent, but this 2 H 8 min. movie
      could have been shortened by 15-20 min. The dual flashbacks at the end
      were particularly unsatisfying. Nevertheless, do go see the movie, if
      just for it's theme, a wonderful melody, "Dreamers," which was memorable
      every time it was presented, played or reprised during the movie.
      Kudos also to Ryan Gosling for his performances on the piano; it
      reminded me of the superb piano playing of Kevin Kline in his portrayal
      of Cole Porter in "De-Lovely" back in 2004. (Definitely check that one
      out too, on DVD, if you've never seen it!) My final suggestion: turn
      Composer Justin Hurwitz loose, and have him write 5+ songs for a future
      musical. I think we will all be pleasantly surprised with the results.

  3. Frances Pratt Springs  •  Jan 25, 2017 at 8:36 pm

    the worse musical ever…it like critics don't want to say the emperor is not wearing any clothes!

  4. Jim in Chicago  •  Jan 26, 2017 at 10:16 am

    I wanted to like this movie but it was slow & boring. The music I memorable, I saw it yesterday and can't remember any of the music. I'd rather watch a Wheeler and Wolsey marathon

  5. Allen Drucker  •  Feb 6, 2017 at 1:23 pm

    Michael, I just saw La La Land at a wonderful theater. I was SOOOOO disappointed! FOURTEEN Oscar nominations, I thought "this must be even better than Chicago!" NOT EVEN CLOSE! Gosling and Stone are NOT dancers. They are NOT singers. They are both very easy on the eyes and good actors, but THAT'S IT! The opening scene on the freeway connector ramp was so hyped in the press that I was expecting something truly magnificent. All I can say is that I feel so sorry for the hundreds of thousands of drivers who were horribly inconvenienced when this fiasco was being filmed. I know that you were not that thrilled with "Chicago," but I just LOVED the music from that film, I bought the CD, I bought the DVD and have watched the film numerous times. I will NEVER waste my time watching La La Land again! The film had its moments, but I would not have nominated this film for ANY Academy Awards, not one! The music was nothing, the dancing was nothing and the story line was not much of anything. My rating? TWO STARS!!

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead

Listen Commercial FREE  |  On-Demand
Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Michael

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Listen to the show on your amazon echo devices
Advertisement
Advertisement
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn