Advertisement
Movie Reviews
Les Misérables

Les Misérables

Cast: Hugh Jackman, Russell Crowe and Anne Hathaway

Release Date: Tue, Dec 25, 2012

MPAA Rating: PG-13

Buy Now Amazon
Share
Tweet
email Email
Print
Advertisement

Comments (15)

Leave a comment
  1. Kathleen Everitt  •  Jan 3, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    This was a glorious, emotional, film. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

  2. Kathleen Everitt  •  Jan 3, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    This is a glorious, emotional experience. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  3. Lorraine  •  Jan 3, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    Didn’t expect to like it, having seen the play numerous times. Wasn’t sure Jackman, Hathaway and Crowe could be believable. I was wrong. It was magnificent and Jackman, Hathway and Crowe were EXCELLENT! LOVED IT! I will see it again.

  4. Shadrach Strehle  •  Jan 3, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    Crowe did a great job. So many people criticize his dead pan acting but don’t realize how perfect it fits Javert as a character

  5. Gray Isaacs  •  Jan 4, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    We’ve seen the stage production in London 4 times, the latest this past November, so obviously we love it, and I was looking forward to seeing it on the screen, not expecting it to be great but good. I mean you can’t mess up that music. Well. was I in for a surprise. I thought it was BETTER than the stage show! There are a lot of things they can do in movies that can’t be done on stage and the plot was really well developed. It answered a few details i had never been clear about.
    The singing voices were not as good as London, especially Javert, but Russell Crowe’s acting made up for it. I was amazed that he could sing at all.
    It should be nominated for every academy award including best picture.

    • GSouthNM  •  Jan 4, 2013 at 8:21 pm

      I think you’re dead-on. I was astonished at the singing, the cinematography, the performances. During the first number, I was bothered by Crowe’s singing, but he interpreted the character differently from what I saw on stage–much more physically imposing, especially on horseback. I changed my mind about him quickly. I heard weeping throughout the theater when Anne Hathaway sang. The extreme close-ups were panned in some reviews, but I loved them. Hugh Jackman was unbelievable. I couldn’t figure out why the singing was so different–better–than other musicals. When I went to the web site and watched the videos that explained why they filmed the singing live, I understood. My daughter pointed out to me afterward that Fantine’s scene was shot without a break or change in angle.

  6. Novalis  •  Jan 7, 2013 at 1:42 am

    Depressing, perfect portrayal of the mob revolution described by Ann Coulter. Crow will never equal Charles Laughton and Jackman will never stand up to Muni’s Jean Valjean. Look, Evita left us with memorable music and lyrics. Les Mis not so much. All in all it was a chore to sit through.

  7. Novalis  •  Jan 7, 2013 at 2:01 am

    Pardon, that should read Fredrick March not Paul Muni. Sorry about that.

  8. Richad  •  Jan 7, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    My wife and I loved the musical and were really looking forward to the movie.
    The movie looked great but we were both bored and disappointed.
    All the close-ups of the actors singing lost the feeling for the story.

  9. Gail R  •  Jan 14, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    I loved the movie. Have seen it twice and will go again! Have seen it onstage, though not London or NYC, and watch it every time it is on PBS. I also have the music on my ipod. All the cast was fabulous. Best movie I have seen in years.

  10. JJoe  •  Jan 19, 2013 at 8:07 pm

    Anne Hathaway’s performance in this movie was cringe-worthy. “Fantine’s Death” is one of the most moving and memorable scenes in all of popular musicals. But Hathaway’s “Oh, please fall into my sympathy-trap” performance prompted feelings of “Go ahead and die already.” The younger cast and Hugh Jackman were excellent. The movie succeeds despite Hathaway (and Crowe), certainly not because of them.

  11. Cathy  •  Jan 20, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    Read the book, saw the 1935 movie with Frederick March, never saw the play and was dissapointed and finding myself begging for them just to say the words and not sing them. I found it very distracting from the original story. The only bright spot was the actress that played Eponine.

  12. H. C. Freeman  •  Jan 26, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    A masterpiece of a movie. I was expecting a “girlie” movie with all the singing.
    Boy was I wrong. It grips you from the very start and never lets you go.
    Bring some Kleenex… it’s that emotional. Stunning acting and scenery.
    Austrians have outdone our Hollywood producers. By all means, GO SEE IT!

  13. Pete  •  Apr 27, 2013 at 10:26 am

    This is on my top ten list of movies of all time. It made me re-examine my values.

  14. Dominic  •  Apr 19, 2014 at 11:04 am

    Not THAT good, maybe 4 out of 5, watch Nostalgia Critic’s review to see what I’m getting at.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Advertisement
Advertisement
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn