America the Movie

x close
Advertisement

Movie Reviews

Les Misérables

Les Misérables

Cast: Hugh Jackman, Russell Crowe and Anne Hathaway

Release Date: Tuesday, December 25, 2012

MPAA Rating: PG-13

Buy on Amazon

Download Review »

Comments (15)

  1. From: Kathleen Everitt   On: January 3, 2013

    This was a glorious, emotional, film. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

  2. From: Kathleen Everitt   On: January 3, 2013

    This is a glorious, emotional experience. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  3. From: Lorraine   On: January 3, 2013

    Didn’t expect to like it, having seen the play numerous times. Wasn’t sure Jackman, Hathaway and Crowe could be believable. I was wrong. It was magnificent and Jackman, Hathway and Crowe were EXCELLENT! LOVED IT! I will see it again.

  4. From: Shadrach Strehle   On: January 3, 2013

    Crowe did a great job. So many people criticize his dead pan acting but don’t realize how perfect it fits Javert as a character

  5. From: Gray Isaacs   On: January 4, 2013

    We’ve seen the stage production in London 4 times, the latest this past November, so obviously we love it, and I was looking forward to seeing it on the screen, not expecting it to be great but good. I mean you can’t mess up that music. Well. was I in for a surprise. I thought it was BETTER than the stage show! There are a lot of things they can do in movies that can’t be done on stage and the plot was really well developed. It answered a few details i had never been clear about.
    The singing voices were not as good as London, especially Javert, but Russell Crowe’s acting made up for it. I was amazed that he could sing at all.
    It should be nominated for every academy award including best picture.

    • From: GSouthNM   On: January 4, 2013

      I think you’re dead-on. I was astonished at the singing, the cinematography, the performances. During the first number, I was bothered by Crowe’s singing, but he interpreted the character differently from what I saw on stage–much more physically imposing, especially on horseback. I changed my mind about him quickly. I heard weeping throughout the theater when Anne Hathaway sang. The extreme close-ups were panned in some reviews, but I loved them. Hugh Jackman was unbelievable. I couldn’t figure out why the singing was so different–better–than other musicals. When I went to the web site and watched the videos that explained why they filmed the singing live, I understood. My daughter pointed out to me afterward that Fantine’s scene was shot without a break or change in angle.

  6. From: Novalis   On: January 7, 2013

    Depressing, perfect portrayal of the mob revolution described by Ann Coulter. Crow will never equal Charles Laughton and Jackman will never stand up to Muni’s Jean Valjean. Look, Evita left us with memorable music and lyrics. Les Mis not so much. All in all it was a chore to sit through.

  7. From: Novalis   On: January 7, 2013

    Pardon, that should read Fredrick March not Paul Muni. Sorry about that.

  8. From: Richad   On: January 7, 2013

    My wife and I loved the musical and were really looking forward to the movie.
    The movie looked great but we were both bored and disappointed.
    All the close-ups of the actors singing lost the feeling for the story.

  9. From: Gail R   On: January 14, 2013

    I loved the movie. Have seen it twice and will go again! Have seen it onstage, though not London or NYC, and watch it every time it is on PBS. I also have the music on my ipod. All the cast was fabulous. Best movie I have seen in years.

  10. From: JJoe   On: January 19, 2013

    Anne Hathaway’s performance in this movie was cringe-worthy. “Fantine’s Death” is one of the most moving and memorable scenes in all of popular musicals. But Hathaway’s “Oh, please fall into my sympathy-trap” performance prompted feelings of “Go ahead and die already.” The younger cast and Hugh Jackman were excellent. The movie succeeds despite Hathaway (and Crowe), certainly not because of them.

  11. From: Cathy   On: January 20, 2013

    Read the book, saw the 1935 movie with Frederick March, never saw the play and was dissapointed and finding myself begging for them just to say the words and not sing them. I found it very distracting from the original story. The only bright spot was the actress that played Eponine.

  12. From: H. C. Freeman   On: January 26, 2013

    A masterpiece of a movie. I was expecting a “girlie” movie with all the singing.
    Boy was I wrong. It grips you from the very start and never lets you go.
    Bring some Kleenex… it’s that emotional. Stunning acting and scenery.
    Austrians have outdone our Hollywood producers. By all means, GO SEE IT!

  13. From: Pete   On: April 27, 2013

    This is on my top ten list of movies of all time. It made me re-examine my values.

  14. From: Dominic   On: April 19, 2014

    Not THAT good, maybe 4 out of 5, watch Nostalgia Critic’s review to see what I’m getting at.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this Web site you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Advertisement

Contact the Show

Phone: 800.955.1776

Email: medvedmail@medvedshow.com

Follow Michael Medved

Advertisement
also available on tunein
  • Michael Medved Mobile App
  • Michael Medved's History Store
  • Medhead - Premium Content website
  • Invite Michael to Speak
LIKE Michael Medved on Facebook Follow Michael Medved @medvedSHOW Go to Medhead (Premium Service) Invite Michael to Speak Subscribe to Medved's Newsletter Get the Michael Medved Mobile App