x close
Advertisement

Movie Reviews

man of steel

Man of Steel

Cast: Henry Cavill, Amy Adams, Michael Shannon

Release Date: Friday, June 14, 2013

MPAA Rating: PG-13

Buy on Amazon

Download Review »

Comments (21)

  1. From: Aaron   On: June 16, 2013

    This is a great film saw it twice. I would give it four stars.

  2. From: David   On: June 16, 2013

    Sorry mike but as a longtime fan of superman you are completely wrong. The film was wonderful and emotional and very well put together. It’s a good thing wen Hollywood gets it right and the messianic overtones are true to the character of superman. Always have been

  3. From: Brian   On: June 17, 2013

    I hadn’t realized until this moment that more than one Man of Steel was released this weekend. Unfortunately for you Michael, you didn’t see the one I did.

    The action sequences (popularly criticized) served to show just how much trouble the newly minted Superman has in dealing with this set of villains: they are deadly and smart. Would the situation be seen to be anywhere near as dire had these disaster scenes been truncated? No. Were they heavy handed? Yes, but so is the threat.

    As for character development, I found myself very much involved with each of the major roles: Lara El and Martha Kent both show tremendous courage and beauty in the face of mortal danger, Jor El and Jonathan Kent both shape and strengthen Kal/Clark through their counseling and sacrifice, and Zod is a study rage and cunning. We see through numerous flashbacks the moments that shape in this new Superman all of the wonderful qualities that we expect: his humility, his patriotism (“I’m about as American as you can get;” take that, Bryan Singer), and the character formed by challenges in learning to use his abilities (at one point tenderly portrayed as childhood disabilities) for the good of his adopted people.

    Even the Hans Zimmer score was appealing on many levels. The seeming lack of any discernible melody and the rhythmic cadences remind us that this film is set on the same continent as Gotham. The tones here however are golden and convex; they contrast with Batman’s more introspective and cooler keys. You know that something wonderful is building, just getting started. These are Jonathan and Jor-El’s admonitions to their son, set to music.

    After how deeply parts of this movie touched me, how very rewarding I found the experience of watching it — and knowing that you and I share similar values — I’m truly sorry that it did not affect you in the same way.

    • From: Joe   On: June 20, 2013

      Hi Mike,

      I am sure you must have been eating too much popcorn or went 3D. That tends to paralyze the senses as I believe you may have had. This movie was not only great but historically pertinent. The political overtones implicated conservatism to the point of illuminating why limited government coupled with the value and potential of the individual is why America traditionally began. Go and see it again, and this time remove the popcorn from your ears and the 3d glasses from your mouth.

    • From: Jordan   On: September 10, 2014

      That was an excellent review, sir.

  4. From: Chad   On: June 18, 2013

    I enjoyed the film, but it lacked a certain amount of joy and humor.

  5. From: Sage   On: June 20, 2013

    The film was more awful than Mike says. A failure on almost every level.

  6. From: Russ Phillips   On: June 22, 2013

    As an adult and great admirer of the Christopher Reeve “Superman” (and “Superman II”), what saddened me most about this interpretation was the complete lack of FUN.

    The character of Batman is rooted in psychological trauma. He is also an EARTH man, a man of means with both the desire and wherewithal to tackle a dark world, as he sees it, and set the wrongs right.

    That is not Superman’s story. Superman works best as a demigod savior. I could support the idea of makiong him less a polished boyscout. Give him a wry sense of humor and perhaps a touch of weariness if there’s a sense the character could evolve to become more relavant. But this somber, politicized take within the framework of a film that NEVER invites its audience to thrill at the feats of Superman just served no purpose for me.

    All I could think of was all the people dying in those buildings. Superman makes no attempt to shield humanity and confine the battle. And they protray the combatants as impervious to pain or damage, so truly it’s the most pointless of grinding violence with only collateral damage in its wake.

    IN 1978, Superman is so concerned with saving EVERYONE that he almost lets Lois Lane die. In 2013, the only time he breaks from his own self-involvement is to save a falling Lois amidst a storm of debris while scores of regular folks are ground to bits all around.

    I think Superman is dead as a viable movie character.

  7. From: Bill Malone   On: June 22, 2013

    Completely wrong! This is a four star movie. I saw it twice and am planning to go a third time. This is the Superman movie I’ve been waiting 30 years for. Superb film!

  8. From: Jordan   On: June 25, 2013

    This movie was pretty cool. Two stars, too low. This movie has its own issues, but is the best Superman feature film to date, and loads of rollicking fun, while having a level of gravitas and verisimilitude enough not to have the regrettable comic book puerility of the Christopher Reeve films. I thought Cavil was great–even better than Brandon Routh. In this movie one sees Superman’s power, of course, but also his limits: he cannot save the apparent thousands that are destroyed in the collateral damage of the defense against Zod. So he does the responsible and upright thing: he saves those closest to him, those for whom his personal stewardship is greatest. He is fast, not omnipresent. I also liked the back story. I liked the exposition we get on Krypton. I liked Amy Adams. Over all, I liked a lot more than I didn’t like about this movie. Finally, a serious Superman movie. Definitely see more than once.

  9. From: Tim   On: July 10, 2013

    Wow! 2 stars, Michael? Really? You also gave After Earth 2 stars, so I guess that means After Earth is a lot better than I’m thinking it might be.

    I truly enjoyed Man of Steel. I liked the depiction showing that self-restraint is every bit as strong (and necessary) as strength, and that it takes discipline and maturity to know when to use one or the other. These types of thoughtful and subtle complexities is what I’ve come to expect from Christopher Nolan.

    We saw it at the matinee, but it’s definitely worth full price. I can’t say that about too many movies these days.

  10. From: elm327   On: July 12, 2013

    Hahahahahahaha, this politics related YouTube video is in fact so funny, I liked it. Thanks in favor of sharing this.
    elm327 http://www.obdiiobd2.com/

  11. From: Sheridan's Sister   On: July 29, 2013

    I agree with Michael. Everything unique about Superman–the romantic overtones with Lois, the fact that nobody recognizes him with glasses on, the job at the paper–was taken out, leaving just another movie with aliens from central casting. It could have been any movie at all, about any super hero or new character. It was so violent I had to leave the theater at one point, my head was spinning. Not a good film at all.

  12. From: Souffle Girl   On: August 11, 2013

    What a stupid film! No emotional connection, no character development, no romance. Just boring violence. This was almost as bad as Elysium.

  13. From: Ken   On: December 17, 2013

    I’d heard a lot about “Man of Steel.” Got it. Couldn’t wait for it to be done. Booooooring! I get so tired of the cliched fight scenes, the machine guns against space ships, the total reliance on FX and a booming sound-track to “entertain.” Well, it didn’t. If all Hollywood can give is is cartoons with human characters in them, why bother?

  14. From: KerryO   On: March 22, 2014

    All I wanted to find out is…..How does Superman shave?

    Again what could’ve been a a great story becomes just another Hollywood blockbuster.
    Hollywood is going to find out that the public is growing weary of these long drawn-out cololsal fight scenes between two foes who cannot lose i.e. Transformers, Avengers Thor…

  15. From: Beverlee J. Sutton   On: May 9, 2014

    Seriously useful knowledge you’ll have stated, thank you so much for submitting.
    Beverlee J. Sutton http://www.hadenough.info

  16. From: Angelique Eon   On: May 10, 2014

    Terrific work! This is the kind of information that are supposed to be shared across the web. Shame on the search engines for no longer positioning this put up upper! Come on over and discuss with my website . Thank you =)

    http://www.itestcomments789.com

  17. From: 5shadesmedia   On: May 29, 2014

    Hello there, You have done a fantastic job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

    http://www.5shades.com

  18. From: how to design a website   On: May 30, 2014

    It’s best to take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I’ll recommend this site!

    http://www.yelp.ca/biz/5-shades-web-design-toronto-toronto

  19. From: webdesigntoronto88.ca   On: May 30, 2014

    Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is important and everything. However think of if you added some great photos or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips, this blog could definitely be one of the best in its field. Excellent blog!

    http://webdesigntoronto88.ca

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this Web site you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Contact the Show

Phone: 800.955.1776

Email: medvedmail@medvedshow.com

Follow Michael Medved

Advertisement
also available on tunein
  • Michael Medved Mobile App
  • Michael Medved's History Store
  • Medhead - Premium Content website
  • Invite Michael to Speak
LIKE Michael Medved on Facebook Follow Michael Medved @medvedSHOW Go to Medhead (Premium Service) Invite Michael to Speak Subscribe to Medved's Newsletter Get the Michael Medved Mobile App