View the Trailer
Movie Reviews
Moms' Night Out

Moms’ Night Out

Cast: Sarah Drew, Sean Astin, Patricia Heaton

Release Date: Fri, May 9, 2014

MPAA Rating: PG

Buy Now Amazon
email Email

Comments (9)

Leave a comment
  1. Tina  •  May 11, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    Really enjoyed this movie, laughed a lot..tears of joy as well!

  2. AJ McCarrell  •  May 13, 2014 at 2:38 am

    This is such a sexist pile of of fecal matter. Why are the men always depicted as “sitting in front of video games” and call watching their own children “babysitting?” Sorry, most of us are not like this. Michael Medved and the rest of the leftist media is in on the conspiracy to make dad’s appear irrelevant and/or superfluous. I know way more wives that don’t watch their kids because they’re on Facebook all damn day than I do husbands who play video games. I am tired of the constant barrage of sexism from the media today that always depicts a man as incapable of watching or raising his own children, helpless with cooking or cleaning, and how mom always has to clean up his messes. It is sexist and the makers of this movie, as well as Michael, should all apologize to the men of America. I’m sure some men are guilty of ignoring their duties at home, but I don’t know any.

    • John  •  May 14, 2014 at 1:08 pm

      it’s called comedy. Name a group that isn’t portrayed as loutish, ignorant or out-and-out stupid in one comedy or another.

    • DCfever  •  May 14, 2014 at 1:13 pm

      I think AJ MCarrell did not actually see the film. Sean Aston is the lead father in the film, his character is not ‘irrelevant for superfluous’. He does like to play video games, but it is clearly something he does occasionally with his one friend. He supports his wife in having a fun evening out with some other Moms. He doesn’t make messes around the house, unless you include the one fantasy scene where Ally plays the mess out in her mind. Ummm… and it’s a comedy. If everyone took offense to characters in comedies, then every walk of life would be offended every weekend. For a real review of the film, check out the MOMS that have replied on the MOMS’ NIGHT OUT facebook page. They LOVE this movie and think it is hilarious. As did my wife and all her friends. And their HUSBANDS loved it too

  3. Leona Kimlin  •  May 15, 2014 at 2:56 pm

    I loved this heartwarming movie. Thank you to film makers who are not afraid to create a story where the main characters share a Christian world view. It is not preachy, it’s very funny, well done!

  4. Pam Marshall  •  May 17, 2014 at 10:17 pm

    Thank you for your recommendation. Very funny movie! All without a single sex scene, obscenity, or nude body. Go figure.

  5. Ted Rockford  •  May 27, 2014 at 4:29 pm

    Saw the movie at Michael’s recommendation. Save your money and go see Captain America The Winter Soldier for the 3rd time instead. This is a horribly unoriginal and frankly offensive movie full of dated stereo-types that were already dated in the 1960’s. This was a movie that shamelessly plagiarizes “How Does She Do It?” with Sarah Jessica Parker and the 1960’s Doris Day and James Garner vehicle, “The Thrill of it All.” If they wanted something more appropriate for today’s families, a dad’s night out where the mom has to “babysit” her kids instead of sitting on Facebook all day would have oddly made a less offensive stereotype.

    The overall message of this movie is that if a woman’s place isn’t staying at home, then everything falls apart. it’s sexist towards men and women. The men are the stereotypical video-game loving idiots who view rearing their own children as “babysitting” and the women are the stereo-typical overworked housewives that are stressed out. As someone who is active in church and hosts a weekly Bible study with many other families, we know absolutely NO ONE who resembles these cardboard cutouts for characters. All of the dads are very involved in their children’s lives, the moms are not totally stressed out, the couples in real life are equal partners, and no one calls raising their own kids “babysitting” and video games went out a long time ago. This movie, however, portrays men as incompetent and disconnected from their kids lives, as unequal partners, as someone the women have to appeal to for “me-time”, and as something only slightly better than the kids they are watching.
    If anything, this movie makes living like a Christian family LESS appealing.

    Frankly, Patricia Heaton’s TV show “The Middle” is a better example of a Christian family than is this one, and that family has little religious context at all. This movie portrays families in a very unflattering light, despite its intention being the opposite. It has an amateurish production quality, cardboard stereotypes for characters, an unoriginal screenplay, but a good cast that is utterly wasted on this piece of garbage.

  6. David  •  Nov 30, 2014 at 3:37 am

    All in all, the movie had a positive message at the end, and I found it to be entertaining. My wife and I have two boys, a 5 & 6 year old, and we can relate!

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
free autographed copy of Michael Medved's new book

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.


The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn