View the Trailer
Movie Reviews

Pacific Rim

Cast: Charlie Hunnam, Idris Elba, Rinko Kikuchi

Release Date: Fri, Jul 12, 2013

MPAA Rating: PG-13

Buy Now Amazon
email Email

Comments (8)

Leave a comment
  1. CMK  •  Jul 12, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    Not that Mr. Medved will read this, but I have this to say: most of your reviews are fair, especially that which you gave The Dark Knight Rises. You said that you respected that film’s craft, it essentially wasn’t to your taste.

    However, I respectfully and adamantly disagree with every point you made, but I don’t think it’s just me. Pacific RIm is an expert monster movie made by an expert monster movie maker. Del Toro has an old world hand with his craft that one doesn’t see anymore. I suspect that, given your range of taste as seen in your many reviews, monster movies are not your cup of tea. Fans of the genre, for whom this film was made, have given it uniform praise. This may be a blockbuster film aimed at a wide audience, but I suspect even the wider audience who is not resistant to big monster movies will like the film quite a bit. That aside, this brilliant example of the genre deserves more than the label of “adequate entertainment.” I don’t want you to like it, but I hoped you might respect it more.

  2. Igetstabby  •  Jul 16, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    First Superman, now this? What is wrong with you people! These movies were great! Who killed your imaginations?? It’s felt like less than a 2 hour movie. And he still wasn’t paying attention, they could take them down inconveniently with conventional means, that was said at the start of the movie.

  3. Matthias  •  Jul 18, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    I agree mr medved won’t read this, I have to say u agree with his reviews maybe 2/3’s of the time. On this one medved is dead wrong. Del Toro as a fan of the genre and meticulously pays attention to detail. You can’t help but admire the effort to bring this film together. As a fan boy myself the story of this film was fluffy at best. BUT PEOPLE LIKE WANT TO SEE GIANT LUMBERING ROBOTS FIGHT MONSTERS, and that’s what we got. I never once looked at my watch. I am a fanboy and just appreciated seeing something on screen I only thought of when I was a kid.

  4. Heidi  •  Aug 1, 2013 at 11:10 pm

    I pretty much agree with Mr. Medved on this one. I’m a big fan of monster movies but this felt like Transformers with a bit more flair and a better script. I loved the worldbuilding and the creature creations but the fight scenes pretty quickly lost my interest and the I never lost my skepticism about the giant robots (the best defence the world’s governments can come up with is an adult version of Rock’m Sock’m?).

  5. Chris  •  Mar 1, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    I thought it was a fun movie with great special effects. I liked the characters and enjoyed the humor interspersed with the action.

    • Tim  •  Sep 30, 2014 at 3:35 pm

      It was a fun movie to watch

  6. Mike  •  Apr 22, 2014 at 10:41 am

    First off, almost every point Mr. Medved made was accurate. That being said each of these points is exactly why this is such an entertaining movie. This movie would have been a huge blockbuster if it had been marketed better. It was a Godzilla movie. But, this was made by a Master Filmmaker that grew up loving the original cheesy Japanese movies, specifically because they were cheesy. You knew the monsters were just men in cheap costumes, with script as flimsy as the sets, but you don’t care. You filled in the blanks and just sat back and enjoyed. When I first heard about this movie I groaned, thinking it was going to be another embarrassment like Matthew Broderick’s Godzilla. But having been a kid that played “Ultraman” during recess, when I Mr. Del Toro express is desire to give today’s audience an the same experience he had with the originals with top notch hollywood production value, I was all in. I was all in for macho posturing, I was all in for the predictable storyline. I was all in for the silly battering of the two scientists. I was all in for the flat out fun, then movie produced. Sometimes you need to just sit back and experience a movie, without thinking so hard Mr. Medved.

    • Don  •  Jan 5, 2015 at 8:05 pm

      I agree! Macho posturing, giant machines, sound effects. In the moment film, along for the ride. Just pure fun!!!!! That’s entertainment! Yeager pilots rock!

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
free autographed copy of Michael Medved's new book

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.


The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn