View the Trailer
Movie Reviews

Saving Mr. Banks

Cast: Emma Thompson, Tom Hanks, Annie Rose Buckley

Release Date: Fri, Dec 20, 2013

MPAA Rating: PG-13

email Email

Comments (9)

Leave a comment
  1. Peter Kogler  •  Dec 19, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    A superficial review that seems to have missed the whole point of the movie. The flashbacks were essential to the poignant redemption of the memory of Mr. Banks and the final decision to sign over rights to the movie. Definitely 4 stars.

    • Julie Esposito  •  Jan 2, 2014 at 7:47 pm

      I have to agree with Peter on this one. ^^^^

  2. Carcotas  •  Dec 20, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    Saving Mr Banks tells the story of Walt Disney’s battle to get the rights to make Mary Poppins into a movie. I wasn’t expecting to like this but was completely blown away.

    It is beautifully put together, is hilarious in parts and very touching and emotional at other stages, but is not overly sappy or cheesy.

    There are some outstanding performances here. Emma Thompson plays Mrs Travers beautifully – a cantankerous and stubborn lady, yet you can’t dislike her. Tom Hanks does a good job of playing Walt Disney – a tough role for anyone but he seems to suit it, so long as you can get past the terrible fake southern accent which is worse than Dick Van Dyke’s attempts at an English accent in Mary Poppins.

    However the stand-out performance is, surprisingly, delivered by Colin Farrell as Mrs Travers’ father. He brings amazing range and emotion to a character that is simultaneously a loving, sweet father and a man caged in by life and personal demons.

    Go see it for yourself when it comes out at the end of November. I’m looking forward to watching it again.

    More about the movie you can also find it here

  3. marty kaltenbach  •  Jan 2, 2014 at 5:12 pm

    can’t think of a really disturbing part. Think the drowning seen shook my kids a little. Overall I found it a wonderful movie. Kids loved it. We watched the Pippins movie and I bought the original book.I’m a sucker for historical stuff.

  4. David Gursky  •  Jan 5, 2014 at 1:01 am

    Mike, I love you and respect you but you’re way off on this one. My wife and I, both Disney and Poppins fans, absolutely LOVED this excellent movie. And you unnecessarily scared us off about bringing our two kids–there was nothing that would be traumatic for them. (I think you were in an uncharacteristicly bad mood when you watched it.

  5. Judy Stein  •  Jan 5, 2014 at 4:56 pm

    I don’t agree with you at all, Michael. I thought that this movie was very well done. That the flashbacks into Travors life were absolutely necessary to see why she wrote Mary Poppins the way she did. Excellent movie – no bad language, no sex, no violence. Would recommend it to anyone. AND, I was humming a few songs from Mary Poppins all week. Uplifting movie.

  6. goestaft  •  Jan 18, 2014 at 11:29 am

    I’ll give you a link good movie, I was tired with all the wrong link,
    if you want to download this film, follow this link

    I just want to help you to provide the correct instructions to download this movie

  7. carol  •  Feb 14, 2014 at 11:36 pm

    I agree with almost everything Michael says, but the movie reviews are more often than not are the exception.

  8. SDH  •  Feb 22, 2014 at 12:50 am

    2.5 stars and Wolf of Wall Street 3.5? What the???

    Maybe you should go back and read your own book “Hollywood vs America” Michael.

    I pray there are more films like “Saving Mr Banks”. With your lack of support, you’ve just added support to the new wave floodgate of films that are porn masquerading as social commentary.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.


The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn