America the Movie

x close
Advertisement

Movie Reviews

Snowpiercer

Snowpiercer

Cast: Chris Evans, Jamie Bell, Tilda Swinton

Release Date: Friday, June 27, 2014

MPAA Rating: R

Download Review »

Comments (14)

  1. From: Tim French   On: June 13, 2014

    Why isn’t this aggragated on Rotten Tomatoes? http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/snowpiercer/reviews/

    • From: James Keslin   On: July 8, 2014

      @Tim French: At the time you posted the reviews hadn’t been aggregated on Rotten Tomatoes, but as of July 8 Snowpiercer had received a 94% approval rating overall and a whopping 97% approval rating from top critics. Not having seen the film as of yet I reserve judgment, but Michael Medved is certainly in the critical minority among those who have panned Snowpiercer.

  2. From: Kathleen   On: June 13, 2014

    Wow, Michael. I can’t remember when you have ever given zero stars! It must be terrible.

  3. From: kick   On: June 14, 2014

    Zero stars, eh?

    But was it as bad as the Star Wars prequels, or Night of the Lepus?

    Those are the worst films I’ve ever seen.

  4. From: Cristian P.   On: June 25, 2014

    This isn’t my favorite Joon-ho Bong film. Nevertheless, I feel that you went a little overboard on your critique of the film. There are plot holes in the story, but it’s still intriguing to watch. And I honestly don’t know why you fussed about the cannibalism and violence; there’s only one mention of cannibalism (which is done attentively and is a very emotionally scene) and the brutality is not as explicit as you claim (the torture scene is NOTHING; relies on SFX). I don’t think you liked it because it has a very dark atmosphere. I recall plenty of dark films you reviewed poorly that were very good (including Black Swan and Drive).

    This may not be the most happy-go-lucky film of the year (it is far from it), but it’s still an entertaining post-apocalyptic thriller with a satisfying performance from Chris Evans, some dazzling set designs, and a humanistic finale.

  5. From: Joseph Miller   On: June 27, 2014

    We used to do this as boys back home in Illinois….
    a few minutes of creative fun without much harm done. Didn’t involve the end of the world or cannibalism, violence or torture nor did it require SFX… and even better was free of charge.
    I harken back to the simpler time of “Snow Pissing”….

  6. From: Lee   On: July 11, 2014

    Medved, you missed it on this one. This was a brilliant film. Not for everyone, but brilliant and made for an “off” sort of mind. Evans does great. Shame on you for shaming a great movie!

    • From: SeeingDouble   On: July 12, 2014

      Shame on you for considering this reprehensible bilge “brilliant.” There are times that being the odd man out isn’t a good thing; this is one of those times. You should ponder why your mind is “off” without ignoring the likely conclusions.

      • From: Anonymous   On: July 13, 2014

        The movie has a 94% on RT, I’d say Medved is the odd man out, not the lone voice of reason you’re addressing.

      • From: Some Guy   On: July 21, 2014

        I’m with Seeing Double on this one. I saw that this had a 94% on RT, and when it was over I was left wondering if I had even seen the same movie as everyone else. It’s basically Orwell’s 1984 on a train, with CGI that is far from noteworthy and at times painfully cheesy. I know that this was low-budget, but that doesn’t absolve a film of its myriad flaws out of hand. The storyline is utterly predictable as it plays on the same class warfare premise that filmmakers haven’t been able to keep their hands off of for the last several years, and yet it somehow manages to be more ham-handed about it than even the most painfully obvious adaptations of the trope (I’m looking at you, Elysium). In my opinion, this movie plays like a 10th-grader’s creative writing project, minus the charm.

  7. From: Chris   On: July 25, 2014

    Wow, conservative critic Medved – who once wrote a book defending the USA’s free market system – doesn’t like a movie about class warfare. Surprising.

    Snowpiercer wasn’t the greatest movie I’ve seen recently, but it’s an enjoyable ride with an interesting concept. Mevded is way off.

  8. From: Gene   On: July 26, 2014

    Snow Piercer was just god awful. It’s been a long time since something this horrible has been released. I agree… Zero stars. Pretentious crap and illogical. Even the start explaining ozone and global warming is hilariously incorrect. Buy a 5th grade science book before you attempt to write a story. Ozone has nothing to do with global warming.

  9. From: David   On: August 11, 2014

    Just paid $8 to rent it, and man, this movie was terrible. One of the worst I have ever seen. No character development. Plot holes large enough to drive a train through. Just a few examples:

    1) So cold the ocean has frozen over, but it’s still snowing? That’s not how it works.

    2) Everything is dead, but for some reason there is an apex predator — a polar bear — hiking in the alps?

    3) Is the train also a time machine, because the people in the back look like they are from the 40s.

    4) People can’t remember their own mothers…after 17 years. With kids like that…

    5) Dude has probably never shot a gun before, at least not in the pat 17 years, and somehow he is a crack shot with a submachine gun.

    The movie is beyond absurd. I can suspend disbelief if the story is good, and the characters are developed. Instead we get an overwrought piece of turd about classism and environmental degradation that manages to do a disservice to both of those important topics while also being a poor movie.

  10. From: Squishbot   On: September 12, 2014

    This movie was about as disappointing as Santa arriving down the chimney on Christmas Day and proceeding to rape the last puppy on planet Earth.
    Philosophically vacant, morbidly overplayed drivel.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this Web site you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Advertisement

Contact the Show

Phone: 800.955.1776

Email: medvedmail@medvedshow.com

Follow Michael Medved

Advertisement
also available on tunein
  • Michael Medved Mobile App
  • Michael Medved's History Store
  • Medhead - Premium Content website
  • Invite Michael to Speak
LIKE Michael Medved on Facebook Follow Michael Medved @medvedSHOW Go to Medhead (Premium Service) Invite Michael to Speak Subscribe to Medved's Newsletter Get the Michael Medved Mobile App