View the Trailer
Movie Reviews


Cast: Chris Evans, Jamie Bell, Tilda Swinton

Release Date: Fri, Jun 27, 2014

MPAA Rating: R

email Email

Comments (18)

Leave a comment
  1. Tim French  •  Jun 13, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    Why isn’t this aggragated on Rotten Tomatoes?

    • James Keslin  •  Jul 8, 2014 at 9:47 am

      @Tim French: At the time you posted the reviews hadn’t been aggregated on Rotten Tomatoes, but as of July 8 Snowpiercer had received a 94% approval rating overall and a whopping 97% approval rating from top critics. Not having seen the film as of yet I reserve judgment, but Michael Medved is certainly in the critical minority among those who have panned Snowpiercer.

      • Di  •  Dec 30, 2014 at 1:38 pm

        If you use “as of yet” your literacy level puts you among those who probably would like Snowpiercer, the most illogical idiotic among overproduced movies of 2014. Nothing in that film makes any sense.

  2. Kathleen  •  Jun 13, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    Wow, Michael. I can’t remember when you have ever given zero stars! It must be terrible.

  3. kick  •  Jun 14, 2014 at 10:49 pm

    Zero stars, eh?

    But was it as bad as the Star Wars prequels, or Night of the Lepus?

    Those are the worst films I’ve ever seen.

  4. Cristian P.  •  Jun 25, 2014 at 5:40 pm

    This isn’t my favorite Joon-ho Bong film. Nevertheless, I feel that you went a little overboard on your critique of the film. There are plot holes in the story, but it’s still intriguing to watch. And I honestly don’t know why you fussed about the cannibalism and violence; there’s only one mention of cannibalism (which is done attentively and is a very emotionally scene) and the brutality is not as explicit as you claim (the torture scene is NOTHING; relies on SFX). I don’t think you liked it because it has a very dark atmosphere. I recall plenty of dark films you reviewed poorly that were very good (including Black Swan and Drive).

    This may not be the most happy-go-lucky film of the year (it is far from it), but it’s still an entertaining post-apocalyptic thriller with a satisfying performance from Chris Evans, some dazzling set designs, and a humanistic finale.

  5. Joseph Miller  •  Jun 27, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    We used to do this as boys back home in Illinois….
    a few minutes of creative fun without much harm done. Didn’t involve the end of the world or cannibalism, violence or torture nor did it require SFX… and even better was free of charge.
    I harken back to the simpler time of “Snow Pissing”….

  6. Lee  •  Jul 11, 2014 at 6:09 am

    Medved, you missed it on this one. This was a brilliant film. Not for everyone, but brilliant and made for an “off” sort of mind. Evans does great. Shame on you for shaming a great movie!

    • SeeingDouble  •  Jul 12, 2014 at 4:37 pm

      Shame on you for considering this reprehensible bilge “brilliant.” There are times that being the odd man out isn’t a good thing; this is one of those times. You should ponder why your mind is “off” without ignoring the likely conclusions.

      • Anonymous  •  Jul 13, 2014 at 9:46 pm

        The movie has a 94% on RT, I’d say Medved is the odd man out, not the lone voice of reason you’re addressing.

      • Some Guy  •  Jul 21, 2014 at 1:49 am

        I’m with Seeing Double on this one. I saw that this had a 94% on RT, and when it was over I was left wondering if I had even seen the same movie as everyone else. It’s basically Orwell’s 1984 on a train, with CGI that is far from noteworthy and at times painfully cheesy. I know that this was low-budget, but that doesn’t absolve a film of its myriad flaws out of hand. The storyline is utterly predictable as it plays on the same class warfare premise that filmmakers haven’t been able to keep their hands off of for the last several years, and yet it somehow manages to be more ham-handed about it than even the most painfully obvious adaptations of the trope (I’m looking at you, Elysium). In my opinion, this movie plays like a 10th-grader’s creative writing project, minus the charm.

  7. Chris  •  Jul 25, 2014 at 2:16 am

    Wow, conservative critic Medved – who once wrote a book defending the USA’s free market system – doesn’t like a movie about class warfare. Surprising.

    Snowpiercer wasn’t the greatest movie I’ve seen recently, but it’s an enjoyable ride with an interesting concept. Mevded is way off.

  8. Gene  •  Jul 26, 2014 at 4:54 pm

    Snow Piercer was just god awful. It’s been a long time since something this horrible has been released. I agree… Zero stars. Pretentious crap and illogical. Even the start explaining ozone and global warming is hilariously incorrect. Buy a 5th grade science book before you attempt to write a story. Ozone has nothing to do with global warming.

  9. David  •  Aug 11, 2014 at 12:52 am

    Just paid $8 to rent it, and man, this movie was terrible. One of the worst I have ever seen. No character development. Plot holes large enough to drive a train through. Just a few examples:

    1) So cold the ocean has frozen over, but it’s still snowing? That’s not how it works.

    2) Everything is dead, but for some reason there is an apex predator — a polar bear — hiking in the alps?

    3) Is the train also a time machine, because the people in the back look like they are from the 40s.

    4) People can’t remember their own mothers…after 17 years. With kids like that…

    5) Dude has probably never shot a gun before, at least not in the pat 17 years, and somehow he is a crack shot with a submachine gun.

    The movie is beyond absurd. I can suspend disbelief if the story is good, and the characters are developed. Instead we get an overwrought piece of turd about classism and environmental degradation that manages to do a disservice to both of those important topics while also being a poor movie.

  10. Squishbot  •  Sep 12, 2014 at 10:04 am

    This movie was about as disappointing as Santa arriving down the chimney on Christmas Day and proceeding to rape the last puppy on planet Earth.
    Philosophically vacant, morbidly overplayed drivel.

  11. Agony  •  Nov 23, 2014 at 1:41 am

    Oh WHY did I not check Medved On Movies before I let my wife (who was led astray by some other rotten movie review site) order this one up on pay-per-view??? I’ve never heard Medved give zero stars, but in this case I agree…this is the worst movie I’ve ever seen in my 47 years…

  12. Daryl  •  Dec 6, 2014 at 3:27 pm

    I was excited to watch this move. Netflix predicted that I would love it, and Rotten Tomatoes gave it 94%! It was going to be great!

    I watched it. I watched it all the way through, thinking to myself, how the hell does a piece of dreck like this get 94%? It’s beyond horrible. I think the only movie I’ve ever seen that was worse was “It’s Pat”. There’s so much wrong with it, it’s hard to know where to begin, and I won’t even try. All I can say is, if you watched this movie and thought it was great, we can’t be friends.

  13. MBED  •  Jan 12, 2015 at 8:46 pm

    The only way this movie could be good is if it was intentionally bad.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
free autographed copy of Michael Medved's new book

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.


The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn