View the Trailer
Advertisement
Movie Reviews
force poster

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Cast: Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac

Release Date: Fri, Dec 18, 2015

MPAA Rating: PG-13

Buy Now Amazon
Share
Tweet
email Email
Print
Advertisement

Comments (15)

Leave a comment
  1. kick  •  Dec 31, 2015 at 6:01 pm

    Star Bores: The Farce Ad Nauseam

    How many times can the same story be told, retold, retold, retold and retold again before your brain melts from boredom?

    For thinking people Star Wars is objectively the worst film series ever made.

    I decided over a decade ago that I will watch Star Wars never again forever!

    • Jack Burton  •  Jan 1, 2016 at 4:29 pm

      Good for you. Loser.

      • kick  •  Jan 8, 2016 at 3:56 pm

        How fortunate for Disney Films that Star Wars fans don’t think.

    • Jeff  •  Jan 29, 2016 at 4:49 pm

      If you've foresworn these is movies for the rest of your life then why are you even commenting on this? You must not have watched this and are gleefully glad you didn't. I, on the other hand did not fore swear it, and hated every (iliterate derivative) there are not even the right words for it. Mind-numbing is closer and hugs abounded. The packed cinema cheered when (finally) Ben gave Han his due. Cheered and three popcorn at the screen, ala Rocky Horror!

      • Jeff  •  Jan 29, 2016 at 5:00 pm

        Three = threw

  2. James Beckham  •  Jan 2, 2016 at 6:23 am

    Why do critics keep pushing this film as some great film? This film had so many plot holes, terrible villains, and disappointing scenes that there is absolutely no reason for it to get such a high rating.

    • John  •  Jan 10, 2016 at 12:20 pm

      I agree with you. I have no idea why the critics love this cheesy and very un-original movie.

    • Peter G  •  Jan 11, 2016 at 3:18 am

      The same reason the vast majority of the viewing audience is also pushing it as a great film? You didn’t like it. That’s nice. Too bad the rest of the world disagrees.

  3. Roger Lee  •  Jan 4, 2016 at 12:55 am

    I will still go to see the film even though it is tiresome to see the obligatory black face there on the poster. Why no Hispanic face? Why no Asian face? Why no Hasid with ringlets? Because these people do not riot and constantly threaten violence. Does there have to be a black character in every film?

    • Caleb S  •  Feb 29, 2016 at 6:43 pm

      It's okay this time, he plays a sanitation worker just to be realistic. Really, that's true!
      He's not the stereotypical bold brash hero, something we never see!

  4. gene clark  •  Jan 8, 2016 at 8:06 pm

    @ Roger Lee…LOL…Dude, its a science fiction movie…you know “A long time ago, in a galaxy far far away”? stop inserting your silly pc views into everything, you guys ruined quite enough as it already is. Dont like it? cool…dont watch the next one. But do us all a favor and take it down a notch, jeez.

  5. Randall B  •  Jan 14, 2016 at 3:01 pm

    I really wanted to love this movie. Even a month later I am still too embarrassed to admit to my family and close friends that I did not love this movie. Some of my issues with the movie, I will freely admit, are rather trivial and are my own hangups. But there are some issues that are little more problematic.

    1) Forget the fact that Kylo Ren unmasked himself far too early, why does he even wear a mask at all? Darth Vader wore one to survive. The Stormtroopers wear them as part of their body armor. It seems rather arbitrary for Kylo to be wearing one. As it a result he becomes a parody of himself.

    2) Finn has way too much of a personality for someone who had just defected from a group of mindless soldiers. Can you picture a lifelong Jihadi suddenly defecting and being full of sarcasm and wittiness? The likable Finn should have been developed far slower than that.

    3) This is kind of an extension to #2 – They way overdid it with the satire. The worst moment was at the beginning of the movie, when Poe was brought before Kylo. Poe says to him something like, “So who talks first? The mask kind of throws me off”. Once again this just creates a parody of Kylo Ren, which completely deflates the seriousness of the moment. Nobody would have said such a thing to Darth Vader. Kylo had just halted a laser blast in mid-flight. And he cut your friend in half with his lightsaber. Surely you wouldn’t be in that much of a joking mood. I don’t care who you are. Yes we needed some of the campiness back to make it “feel” like Star Wars again. But unfortunately I think they overcompensated here.

    4) This is the one that is going to get me into a lot of trouble. But it is what it is. Thanks to the Hunger Games, the Divergent series, and the soon-to-be Fifth Wave series, I have grown tired of the, “teenage girl saves the world” formula. So the fact that this Rey character is going to be this generation’s Luke Skywalker, is a bit disappointing to me. The Star Wars universe has always been masculine-driven – and it worked for what it is. I don’t see any reason to change with the times on this one. Even my 15-year-old daughter has grown tired of the “female empowerment” (her own words) thing.

    5) Luke was no match for Vader even after training with Yoda for a short time. But Rey suddenly grew aware of her force powers and then was able to defeat the very formidable (albeit immature) Kylo? Again this is very sloppy, rushed, and incoherent character development. Yeah I understand that Kylo is no Vader but come on. He just stands there and watches her use the force against him, right after she suddenly says, “Oh yeah, the FORCE.” ? Really?

    6) I loved seeing Han and Chewie again but they seemed like they were characters visiting from a different movie – kind of like guest starring on the Muppet Show or something. I don’t know. I had very mixed feelings regarding their interactions with the new cast of characters. Han’s most cohesive moments were with Leia, and there were not enough of them.

    7) I thought all of my problems with the movie could be negated by an awesome lightsaber scene with Luke Skywalker. But alas that moment never came. This is my greatest disappointment with the movie. A twenty-second cameo is all this guy gets after all these years? The Jedi master we wanted to see more of after Return of the Jedi? Really?

    For all these reasons, I just cannot bring myself to say that I love this movie. And why some of my most respected friends are basically saying this is the greatest movie in the history of the human race is just baffling to me.

    • Caleb S  •  Feb 29, 2016 at 6:49 pm

      You are so right on.
      Also, when Rey first is handed a gun she sights down the barrel WITH THE WRONG EYE! Made me lol right in the movie. And that was pretty much the end for me as the whole thing became ridiculous just as you describe. Very disappointing, really. And Medved has let us down with his review.

  6. Relytia  •  Jan 26, 2016 at 3:33 pm

    Good lord the comments here are painfully pretentious. Relax and lighten up people. It's Star Wars, not Shakespeare, and damn good Star Wars at that. So much anal retentive negativity everywhere these days. Makes me shake my head.

  7. Mark  •  Feb 24, 2016 at 10:20 am

    Just 'cause a movie has "Star Wars" in the title does not excuse bad film making. Star Wars: The Force Awakens is a bad film on so many levels. When did Star Wars fans set the bar so low for this franchise? I am begining to wonder if Star Wars fan (boys/girls) are even capable of rational thought when it comes to these movies.

    No, a film does not have to be Shakespeare or "2001" every time, but it still has to pass a few basic tests to be good: like a decent script that not a ripoff of pervious movies, likeable (and origional?) characters, a great villian(s) and interesting plot. Star Wars Ep VII fails on all of these; ALL of them. And, by the way, it's not just a "small minority" who think this. Check out youtube if you don't believe me. There are now thousands of video reviews of this terrible film by quite rational Star Wars fans who see this fim for what it is: a third rate remake of Star Wars: A New Hope (Ep IV) with stuff thrown in from Episodes V and VI. There's not a single origional idea in this film.

    And don't get me started on how awful the death scene of a major character was, and that the main character (Rey) is a textbook Mary Sue. But, I will gladly debate you on another forum on those.

    Tell me the truth, fans of this movie, if right after Disney bought the rights to Star Wars in 2012 and announced that their first film was going to be a remake of EP IV what would your reaction have been? Be honest. Yep, you would have went balistic! So, why is it ok now?

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Advertisement
Hear what Michael has to say about Health Markets
Advertisement
Advertisement
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn