View the Trailer
Movie Reviews
martian poster

The Martian

Cast: Matt Damon, Jessica Chastain, Kristen Wiig

Release Date: Fri, Oct 2, 2015

MPAA Rating: PG-13

email Email

Comments (17)

Leave a comment
  1. Alan Boorstein  •  Oct 2, 2015 at 5:24 pm

    The book was fantastic, I could not put it down. I’m hoping to see this movie tomorrow night. Can’t Wait.

  2. Wayne "Pat" Davison  •  Oct 9, 2015 at 6:13 pm

    Wow Michael!!! If YOU say 4 stars, then I gotta see it! Thanx,…. Pat

  3. Joe Rea  •  Oct 10, 2015 at 11:29 pm

    I love Michael, listen to him everyday. He is the most informed talk show host on the air. I prayed for his total recovery from throat cancer. Question for Michael: What was the first thing Mark Watney wanted to eat upon his return to earth?

  4. Hugo  •  Oct 12, 2015 at 12:15 am

    This movie was a huge disappoitment and let down.  First of all, Matt Damon’s character came across as cocky and arrogant, evidenced by the fact that he had dissed Neil Armstrong; bragged about being the best botanist in the world; swore throughout the entire movie (especially when he was typing his thoughts to NASA when the entire world was watching); and attacked the president of the U.S.  Most disgusting of all, Damon exuded ingratitude by not expressing appreciation for NASA’s rescue attempt. Did he not realize that the U.S. was spending billions of dollars to save him? Because of Damon’s arrogance, ingratitude, and dirty mouth, I would not blame NASA if they decide to never send another human into space and rather send a robot. At least they’ll never have to put up with another foul-mouthed, unapprecaitive, and pretentious astronaut ever again. Had it been a Chinese astronaut stuck on Mars, for some reason I believe he/she would not have acted in such a disgusting manner and been an embarrasment to their country. 

    • Ed  •  Oct 12, 2015 at 11:57 pm

      Agreed. I would not spend the money for an Estes rocket to go save Damon’s character…

    • Gary Liniger  •  Nov 2, 2015 at 7:43 pm

      Hugo:You are a prude and stupid. By the way he claimed to be the best botanist on a world called MARS!

      • Andy  •  Nov 3, 2015 at 2:31 pm

        Yeah, I loved how Hugo was talking as if Mark Watney was a real astronaut.

  5. Diane  •  Oct 12, 2015 at 6:53 pm

    I saw the movie. Thought it was slow at times and too long. Not enough action. 2 stars.

  6. Haywood Jablomie  •  Oct 16, 2015 at 6:08 pm

    I simply cannot get into ANY space movie where the helmets the actors are wearing have lights inside illuminating their faces.

    Sure, the movie makers want the audience to see the character’s face….but anyone with a brain knows that a light shining INSIDE the helmet would only serve to blind the wearer.

    Seeing this destroys any believability the movie might have.

  7. Annie  •  Oct 21, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    I thought it put forth the idea of the modern man as being so totally self sufficient and un-needing of anything that he can even live alone on Mars relatively happy, and yes, arrogant as all get out. And wasn’t it bizarre that absolutely no mention was made as to why he was even “alone” on earth? No wife, no husband, no family, why, he didn’t even talk to his parents (the only two relatives he seems to have) whilst marooned on Mars except to write out a short obit to them! Usually a guy that the entire world wants to rescue has a “family” at home crying and waiting for him to make it out; in this film not so. In fact he was so totally self sufficient, and un-needing of even a concept of “God” that he literally whittles a crucifix to create kindling for his damn H20 maker! The film was ok, didn’t like the underlying messages, that’s all. I’m wondering how the upcoming drama about the Chilean miners will compare………

    • Andrew  •  Oct 21, 2015 at 2:59 pm

      I wondered the same thing about any loved ones back at home. Just the one it about his parents.

      • Andy  •  Oct 21, 2015 at 3:02 pm

        No edit option? Sheesh. *bit

      • Annie  •  Oct 22, 2015 at 3:28 am

        Yes, he was completely alone, and w/out explanation. He didn’t seem like a social inept (great sense of humor and rapor w/others) whatsoever, which wouldn’t explain his lack of close people in his life. His language? No way, all of those guys talk like that, that’s why it rang untrue that the NASA guy seemed to be offended at his use of the f word. We were supposed to feel warmly about someone who had no one who felt warmly towards him, really. Yes, his crew seemed to feel obligated to get him and liked him ok and he was a colleague. Yet, it was bizarrely disconnected from the reality of human relationship. I know, I’m way way too deep into this.It’s the little things, I guess….

    • Thomas  •  Nov 29, 2015 at 2:17 am

      No husband?

  8. Mark  •  Oct 27, 2015 at 1:24 am

    I thought it was maybe one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen. As a matter of fact, I couldn’t stop laughing by the end – tears were literally streaming down my face. I’m actually amazed that Michael liked it.

  9. Thomas  •  Nov 29, 2015 at 2:26 am

    Very predictable. I experienced no suspense whatsoever. I’m no scientist, but the magic of Wikipedia informs me that the atmospheric pressure on mars is 0.6% of earth sea level pressure. How does a piece of taped on plastic on the opening of the blown out habitat hold 14.7 psi (earth sea level pressure)? What’s up with that?

  10. Queenie  •  Jul 28, 2016 at 8:07 pm

    We liked it, loved the Magyver stuff.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
free autographed copy of Michael Medved's new book

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.


The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn