View the Trailer
Advertisement
Movie Reviews
The Place Beyond the Pines

The Place Beyond the Pines

Cast: Ryan Gosling, Eva Mendes, Anthony Pizza

Release Date: Fri, Mar 29, 2013

MPAA Rating: R

Buy Now Amazon
Share
Tweet
email Email
Print
Advertisement

Comments (7)

Leave a comment
  1. Mark  •  Apr 23, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    Did we see the same movie? I saw three one-hour episodes of a poorly thought out mini-series that didn’t conclude as much as it just gave up.

    Let’s not talk about the weird disconnect between Acts 1 and 2. That was bad enough. But to usher in Act 3 with an inter-title that says “15 years later” is just laughable. It might as well have read “Then a Miracle happened and the script continued.”

    All I can tell you is that Eva Mendes couldn’t look bad if she were dragged behind a truck. Even with the Bride of Frankenstein white lightning bolt in her hair that takes a stab at showing the passage of time–the only thing, really, in the movie that bothers to demonstrate anything–she still steals the show. The rest of the cast is a bunch of male Barbies with stick-on tattoos.

    • Neil F Shearman  •  Apr 28, 2013 at 9:34 pm

      Right on!

    • Shirley  •  Apr 29, 2013 at 6:32 pm

      I agree. This was one of the worst movies I’ve seen in a very long time!

      I usually agree with Michael and I always check his reviews, but I would give this one star at best.

  2. Neil F Shearman  •  Apr 28, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    I really do not understand your review. This is one of the most boring films ever and defiantly the worst major film so far this year. One star tops.

  3. Colleen Green  •  May 2, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    I agree that it was horrible. The only character I liked was Bradley Cooper and the father that was African American. I did not feel sorry for either of the disturbed young men. One had a wonderful father and the other had a father that probably was not there but still provided for his family (Cooper). The hotheaded kid was not justified in his anger – his bio father was a doucebag – and it was just fate that his father, rather than Bradley Cooper’s character died in that shoot out – which would never have happened had it not bee for his doucebag actions in the first place. Bad people – bad movie.

  4. Rick Chapman  •  May 13, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    This was literally the worst movie I’ve seen since Caligula, which at least had the virtue of being unintentionally hilarious. While dating my wife, I lost my composure and fell to the floor of the theater laughing uncontrollably during the interminable death scene of Caligula’s sis. I almost repeated this behavior during the scene in which Gosling’s scion almost shoots Cooper. I view it as one of the disappointments of my life that at least one of them didn’t die. My wife was glaring at me as I began to dissolve in hilarity and because it was Mother’s Day, I refrained from embarrassing her.

    This movie featured some of the worst dialogue, unbelievable plotting, and pretentious acting I’ve ever seen. There was at least one bit of serendipitous plotting. Via karmic justice, Ryan Gosling, whose lower face never moves while he’s talking, transmitted a serious speech impediment to Bradly Cooper’s improbable son.

    I give this movie Five Eye Bleeds. I also view it as a crime against humanity.

    Rick Chapman
    Author, “In Search of Stupidity: Over 20 Years of High-Tech Marketing Disasters”

  5. Dan Jolls  •  Jul 22, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    I completely agree with you Michael. I think the best films out there are the ones that make you think nonstop, and the decisions of the characters of this movie and how they effect other people for years to come are definitely thought-provoking. I found pretty much every part about the movie to be superb, especially the acting of Gosling, playing such a tortured, flawed, yet deep-down good-hearted character. I also want to point out how haunting the score was; and how it worked perfectly with the darkness of the movie. I find this to be one of the best films of the year so far, and one of the saddest, deepest films I’ve seen in a long time. It’s too bad people found it “boring” because of the length and weren’t moved by the struggles and themes so intricately woven into the script.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Advertisement
Hear what Michael has to say about Health Markets
Advertisement
Advertisement
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn