Minds With Medved Advertisement
Movie Reviews

The Shape of Water

Cast: Sally Hawkins, Octavia Spencer, Michael Shannon

Release Date: Fri, Dec 8, 2017

MPAA Rating: R

Buy Now Amazon
email Email

Comments (11)

Leave a comment
  1. Pleeeze  •  Jan 2, 2018 at 11:09 pm

    The movie is of course, bud medved is compelled to praise it because it stars a right winger. Sad

  2. Pleeeze  •  Jan 2, 2018 at 11:10 pm

    The movie is <poo emoji> of course, but medved is compelled to praise it because it stars a right winger. Sad

    • S. Maxwell  •  Jan 24, 2018 at 10:57 pm

      And who exactly is this right winger starring in the movie? Michael Shannon leans very much to the left so why would Medved praise a movie he is in?

    • Phil  •  Feb 17, 2018 at 1:27 am

      Sorry, you're wrong. You may not agree with his rating–I frequently don't, but Medved exceptionally separates his political bias from his critique of cinema. Look at his past ratings; they are very consistent.

  3. John Jones  •  Jan 8, 2018 at 1:39 pm

    Really?!?!?! "Nice" master action scene to open the film!? Sad

  4. Joe Siegel  •  Feb 2, 2018 at 11:39 pm

    OK, I stopped counting, but here's a short list:
    – The Jews/Israel are evil because they make dangerous sneaky weapons
    – Military generals are evil and dumb (A five star general? Last one I remember is Marshall in WWII)
    – The villain is a prejudiced stereotypical Wasp
    – One of the hero's is a Soviet spy
    – Our country's history of discrimination somehow is pertinent to a plot about a sea creature
    – The natives who worshipped the sea creature also shot arrows to keep evil big oil out of the jungle
    – One of the scientists is highly offended by swearing. Oh, how silly and sooooo old fashioned white male
    – Housewives of the 60s were childish and mindless. Oh you know, only raising kids is sooooo cliche

    Lot's more but my eyes were so rolled back into my head I went blind. I've been immunized against the ever present occasional and always present left wing movie snub, but this was so over the top I'm numb.

  5. Stan ALEXANDER  •  Mar 5, 2018 at 11:15 pm

    This mivie ia an XX. When I see a movie wuth full frontal nudity, masterbation and open view sex, I feel it's for the producer, director and cameramen to get their jolly's off. If Harvy Weinstein had done it this way he would still be getting Myrle Streep's accolades. We invited freinds over to see the movie with a youngish daughter in toe. We were all embarrassed. I guess the message here is 'if you are really horney you can even do it wiht a fish.' i will give the lead actess credit for playing the part well, and being mute gave it some poignency. And who wouldn't root for a sea creature strapping it one with a lady with such nice bums. And think about oral sex /// no let's not go there.

  6. Egene Novak  •  Mar 7, 2018 at 2:36 pm

    4 stars? You have lost your mind.Anyone watching this without walking out based on recognizing that it is beyond every adjective describing an imagination that derives from deviant mental illness should start spiritual therapy.

  7. Robert Barnes  •  Mar 14, 2018 at 7:54 am

    I saw this movie last Sunday. By far one of the worst movies I have seen in the last ten years. It made no sense. The idea a mute woman screws an amphibian and then does a dance/song number with IT. Just a terrible movie with a terrible plot. If you have insomnia, this will cure it.

  8. david elliott  •  Mar 14, 2018 at 11:17 pm

    Awful movie! I actually took someone to see it with me. I was embarrassed and sickened. We had to walk out. 4 Stars? You must be bloody joking!

  9. Dave McCoy  •  Mar 17, 2018 at 2:34 am

    Michael – I can't reconcile the thoughtful man I hear on the radio with this rating. I bought the movie on DVD and at some point about mid-film couldn't even watch it anymore. I wasn't offended. The stereotypes were so cardboard that they couldn't offend. They were just comical. I was just bored and annoyed at the total lack of anything interesting.

    I can't imagine you actually watched it. I have too much respect to imagine you would review a movie you didn't see, but I prefer this explanation to the idea that actually saw it and gave it 4 starts.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.


Listen Commercial FREE  |  On-Demand
Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement

Follow Michael

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Listen to the show on your amazon echo devices
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn