View the Trailer
Advertisement
Movie Reviews
witch poster

The Witch

Cast: Anya Taylor-Joy, Ralph Ineson, Kate Dickie

Release Date: Fri, Feb 19, 2016

MPAA Rating: R

Buy Now Amazon
Share
Tweet
email Email
Print
Advertisement

Comments (8)

Leave a comment
  1. Diane Thompson  •  Feb 19, 2016 at 9:21 pm

    Michael, I just saw the movie "The Witch", based on your recommendation which I often trust, but I have to say that this movie was a failed fairy tale, a flop frankly! I spent most of my viewing time trying to decipher the strong English accent mixed in with the dialect of that era. I found the plot strangely confusing and at times incoherent. I do not think this movie reached near it's full potential. While I thought the eerie cinematography of this movie was effective, it did not really do the job of giving it's audience a good scare.

  2. Elise  •  Feb 26, 2016 at 4:10 am

    I thought the ending "excess" was so over-the-top that it invalidated the rest of the film. Had the film taken history a little more seriously, it might have provoked some reflection about the human need for superstition, love, community and family. As it was, the whole thing merely felt absurd.

  3. Peter  •  Feb 27, 2016 at 5:26 pm

    Very disturbed you would give this anything but an "F" and zero stars. This movie has no message other than evil and the early hysteria of witchcraft of that time period. What an absolute waste of my time and thought. If a Christian can find anything worthwhile in this movie to think about, I feel sorry for you. If you want to see how real evil is and have it glorified before your eyes, then go see this movie. Forget the historical truth and significance, I can think of a million better things to fill my mind with.

  4. Hope  •  Mar 3, 2016 at 12:42 pm

    This film is a bald and undisguised glorification of Satan Worship. As explicit as any ever made by Hollywood. Come soon dear Jesus.

    • John Commers  •  Mar 4, 2016 at 5:27 pm

      Hope, I commend you and Peter both for your comments! In my view our world is full of evil and we should never glorify it, indeed we need to come against it; in prayer, thought, and deed! I hear those that will say it is fantasy, however in our media driven culture images are clearly powerful and therefore influential and so filth belongs in the trash-not our hearts and minds! Blessings to you all!

  5. Jeremy Pope  •  May 21, 2016 at 11:44 am

    I am in complete agreement with the comments left before mine. The only thing I have to add is that I'm not sure if I should be more disturbed by this film or that Michael Medved rated it so high.

  6. Beverly  •  May 21, 2016 at 12:53 pm

    I rented this movie based on high ratings. It did not scare me at all. I love jump scares, sneaking up on you scares, all kinds of scares. This movie made me crazy trying to understand the dialogue. Lots of good photography, acting, mood, but not scary which is what makes a horror movie great. I wasted my money and my time.

  7. Tim  •  Aug 14, 2016 at 2:49 am

    I can see why Michael gave it a high review. It's engaging and scary via mood and the actors ability to project confusion and fear. As a horror film it does its job. My only beef with Michael's review is he stated that the film respects the family's faith. No it doesn't. It rips it to shreds. This is a world that has powerful demonic forces verses a God that is impotent and a faithful family that just mutters words but cannot be protected from those demonic forces. It seems it's another Hollywood propaganda piece that's states the Christian faith is in vain because there is no such thing as Christ or if there is, He's a powerless entity. The forces of supernatural evil though,they exist and there's nothing a Bible believing family can do about it.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Advertisement
Hear what Michael has to say about Health Markets
Advertisement
Advertisement
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn