View the Trailer
Advertisement
Movie Reviews
Unbroken

Unbroken

Cast: Jack O'Connell, Takamasa Ishihara, Domhnall Gleeson

Release Date: Thu, Dec 25, 2014

MPAA Rating: PG-13

Buy Now Amazon
Share
Tweet
email Email
Print
Advertisement

Comments (7)

Leave a comment
  1. Khris Devoto  •  Dec 26, 2014 at 2:45 am

    Love you. Love your work.

    Hate this review.

    You must have not got enough sleep the night before, or something.

    Just because you have “seen it before” doesn’t diminish something’s greatness. And yes, I would have loved to see more about the rest of his life, but you rightly admit that subject is a movie unto itself.

    It is in fact the incredible cruelty, not just in general, but specifically targeted at him, that makes his story and redemption so amazing.

    So you mark down a movie because his torture went on so long? Illogical at best.

    I look forward to you re-watching and re – reviewing.

    You say “I’ve never done that”

    Trust me, when you are reviewing your life’s work, you will be glad you did. This man and this movie deserve more than your average 2.5 stars. Really.

  2. Kelly  •  Dec 27, 2014 at 7:42 pm

    I agree with the previous post. Yes, the cruelty and torture were brutal but this is a story that was brutal. The book gets across even more the horrors and sacrifice all of these brave warriors went through. The homecoming of this man and his eventual brokenness that leads to his redemption would be an entire movie in itself. This movie will touch many and get them thinking and perhaps they will want to read the book and hear the complete story. I would give it 4 stars.

    • John  •  Dec 27, 2014 at 11:16 pm

      This was an awesome movie! The book is a must read. I was surprised that Michael Medved only gave it 2 2/12 stars??? This is the first time I’ve ever commented or responded to movie reviews or pretty much anything on the internet. I’m close to 60. I read the book about 3 months ago and it was one of the best books I’ve ever read! I even crashed my wife’s (all female) bookclub when they met a few weeks ago to review this book. Kinda uncomfortable..LOL..but it was worth it to get a chance to talk about the book. I would give it 4 stars for sure.

  3. Chet  •  Dec 31, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    I agree with Michael the movie was unbalanced. The cinematography, acting, and special effects are all excellent but It was down hill from there. The depiction of his life from childhood into his military experience was quite good, but for what ever reason the movie completely ignores the redemptive and life changing years of his life, the part of the story that is the most important and uplifting. Instead the movie dwells endlessly on his POW experience.The horrendous brutal and cruel treatment he received as a POW seemed to go on and on endlessly. So if an hour of cruelty and endless beatings are your thing you will probably enjoy this movie. Otherwise, if you expect to see his entire life and leave the theater upbeat with a sense of satisfaction you will be disappointed. One member of my family said the movie left him feeling broken.

    • Chet  •  Jan 4, 2015 at 1:23 am

      Update to my previous comment: The Billy Graham Association supposedly is going to produce a move that picks up the story after chapter 33 in the book where the unbroken leaves off. I hope it happens. It would be a good completion to Zmperini’s life story.

      I am reading Zamperines memoir book “The Devil At My Heels.” It is excellent. I want to read Laura Hillenbrand’s book on his life, Unbroken next. She spent a great deal of time researching and authenticating his memoirs. I hear it is even more compelling.

  4. Dlopez  •  Jan 17, 2015 at 2:07 pm

    I liked this movie surprised Medved only gave it 2 stars but gave liberal praised movie Boyhood a good rating. Maybe the torture part kind of lasted to long but if one thinks about it she couldn’t really fit everything in to the movie or it would have been way to long. The books of true stories will always be way better. I found the movie very good and heart touching, and I am kind of picky about most movies they either get my attention or they don’t.

  5. James Beckham  •  Oct 23, 2015 at 7:51 am

    This was a pretty good movie, though it’s definitely a hard to watch one. I watched it on DVD, so I had the luxury of pausing it after about an hour of torture, but that’s what you should expect, non-stop torture. Good film though, but hard to watch.

    Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Advertisement
Hear what Michael has to say about Health Markets
Advertisement
Advertisement
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn