View the Trailer
Advertisement
Movie Reviews
The Wolf of Wall Street

The Wolf of Wall Street

Cast: Leonardo DiCaprio, Jonah Hill, Margot Robbie

Release Date: Wed, Dec 25, 2013

MPAA Rating: R

Share
Tweet
email Email
Print
Advertisement

Comments (25)

Leave a comment
  1. marilyn  •  Dec 30, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    I can’t believe you gave this any kind of positive review. I am not at all prudish but this was positively disgusting porn, men with men, body parts hanging out, obvious activity, including the constant snorting of coke. I am telling everyone I know to avoid this film. It should be rated XX not R. Would you take any of your grown kids to see this, or your wife? I so admire you, Michael, but this review is not worthy.

    • Bill  •  Jan 7, 2014 at 10:15 pm

      I went to this show yesterday. Wow! I agree.
      Things like this used to be shown in special XXX theaters in seedy parts of town.
      How did this get an R rating?
      A few people walked out before the half way mark.
      Of course I did not, had to see how far they took it.

      • Steve  •  Jan 15, 2014 at 2:35 am

        I enjoy Medved’s show, but I don’t trust his movie reviews any longer. How could you give this XXX movie 3 1/2 stars?

  2. Melissa  •  Dec 30, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    I agree with your assessment that the acting in the film is fantastic, so much so that I despised the characters with a deep disgust. I am SO surprised and disappointed by your review. At three hours this is entirely too long. The orgies and drug frenzies went on and on and on and were repetitive to the story. A full hour could have been cut from this movie and it would have greatly benefitted. My husband and I saw this with another couple and all being in our 30’s, I would guess that we were likely the movie’s target market. We all expected there to be nudity, language and sex/drug scenes, but every single one of us was shocked that this movie didn’t get an NC-17 rating. WIth multiple extended scenes with full-frontal nudity, this shouldn’t have been an R-rated movie.

  3. Stephanie  •  Jan 2, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    Michael Medved why hast thou forsaken me?

    Seriously, I’m amazed and disappointed that you gave this puerile movie 3 1/2 stars. I agree with critic Lou Lumenick who put the film on his 10 Worst of the Year list and wrote:

    “If you’re going to invest three hours watching a movie about a convicted stock swindler, it needs to be a whole lot more compelling than Martin Scorsese’s handsome, sporadically amusing and admittedly never boring — but also bloated, redundant, vulgar, shapeless and pointless — “Wolf of Wall Street.’’

    Leonardo DiCaprio goes way, way, way over the top in this strenuously comic and far-too-faithful adaptation of the self-serving and credulity-straining memoir by Jordan Belfort…”

    Cinephile friends of mine explain the credulity-straining parts of the movie (i.e. most of it) by saying things like “it’s supposed to be subjective”, “it’s a fable of a drug-addled mind”, “it’s surreal in the manner of Fellini”.

    Fellini…uh huh. The movie had a distinctly adolescent feel about it, like a teenaged boy telling tales to a huddle of friends. After yet another crazed orgy scene and a new smorgasbord of T&A I couldn’t shake the feeling that Scorsese (famously a guy who doesn’t get out much) made the film mainly so he could interview (it is reported that the director got meticulously involved in the casting of parts like Hooker #25) and direct a small army of nubile actresses. Fun for the director. For the rest of us, as you like to say, not so much.

  4. Jerry Bussjaeger  •  Jan 3, 2014 at 10:49 am

    Be wise! Don’t invest in ‘penny stocks’…nor this movie. Scorsese and DiCaprio will be laughing at you! My wife, adult daughter, and I walked out after 45 minutes of a disgusting film. We got a refund. I like Mike, but I recommend that his radio listeners avoid this rip-off film.

    • Gary Cline  •  Jan 3, 2014 at 1:30 pm

      You lasted 45 seconds? My wife and I lasted 20 seconds, and traded our tickets for Philomena a up lifting movie. Appreciate the accurate comments. To Mike Medved your credibility as my trusted reviewer has been damaged.
      Remember people, “Garbage in garbage out.”

  5. Diane  •  Jan 3, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    So relieved to read some of the above commentaries….there still are those of us out there who love great movies and despised the porn. This was a waste of 3 hours – NO good acting is worth subjecting yourself to this. We got the message after the first 5 minutes and if those were actually representing REAL people – WOW – give me a Mary Poppins movie any day!

  6. Paul Mond  •  Jan 3, 2014 at 9:43 pm

    Wolf was one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen. And, it was a copy (the narration by Leo mirrored Ray Liotta’s narration in Goodfellas) of Goodfellas, Only with Wall Street scum. Too long isn’t the half of it. Was Jonah Hill acting? It looked like Jonah Hill, the lame actor. Martin Scorsese is hallowed as a god, and rightly so. But, that doesn’t mean he can still make a great, involving film. Wolf was trash.

  7. Sue  •  Jan 7, 2014 at 4:28 pm

    We knew nothing about this movie so we looked at MichaelMedved.com to get his respected opinion. We saw this movie based on Michael’s 3.5 star rating only because we TRUSTED his judgement. NEVER again without reading the reviews from listeners! THIS movie is simply PORNOGRAPHY!! If it’s not, where is the line drawn?? Yes, the story was good, but 3 hours of EXPLICIT sex, orgies, and everything else imaginable and unimaginable was NOT worth the torture of sitting through this awful film. Hollywood has gone too far in allowing this movie to receive an “R” rating. Michael, we urge you to re-think your thinking on this and not encourage Holly-wierd to make this type of film “normal”.

    • Josiah  •  Mar 2, 2014 at 7:43 pm

      Did you listen to the audio clip of his review? He mentions the loveless, orgiastic sex and that should’ve been a red flag.

      I read the IMDB Parents guide for this film and knew that I would never see it in a million years. I’m a former porn addict and it’s sad to see a film like this nominated for best picture because you know that a lot of kids are going to see it and no one of any age should watch that kind of stuff. I’m disappointed in Michael, who I would hope shares the belief that God created sex for marriage, and not the silver screen. I listen to the show when I can and his politics are great, but I wonder if his wife is aware that he’s watching this stuff.

  8. Deborah  •  Jan 10, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    We, too, rely on Michael’s reviews when selecting a movie. This movie was totally
    too long, had extreme drug and sex scenes and was unbelievable how the characters acted so bizarre at a “professional business” setting. I would not recommend this film to anyone. This was a complete disappointment. Think again if you go by Michael’s review.

  9. Pete  •  Jan 10, 2014 at 11:47 pm

    The accomplished, esteemed Medved gives The Wolf of Wall Street an almost perfect score. Was he doing some of those same Quaaludes from the movie?

  10. John K  •  Jan 11, 2014 at 6:13 am

    I really thought Michael would have rated this movie poorly. I was a little surprised his review is right on the mark. If you listened to his review and left the movie after 45 or 20 seconds what did you think you were going to see? This was a very funny movie. Over the top with profanity, sex, drugs, yes but how can anybody be surprised by it after Michaels review or even watching the trailer. If you liked boiler room, you will love this movie. If you hate Goodfellas you will not like this movie. To me I t was very entertaining and the 3 hours flew by. You will probably hate or love it. But shocked enough to leave after 45 seconds, stick to documentaries and It’s a wonderful life. I also watched American Hustle and Anchorman 2. This was way better than both. Even though American Hustle was real good. I’m not sure what movie you thought you were going to see? I’m going to see it once more and buy it when it comes out DVD. Good movie.

  11. Fred  •  Jan 11, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    I think Michael was spot on with his review. The sex scenes were over the top, but , he warned you. You might find it offensive, but it was a true story and that is what Jordan really did. Creeps act like creeps. Are you going to censor the truth? The acting was top notch and I think DiCaprio will get an Oscar nomination. Belfort got what he deserved. — federal prison and he had to pay back $100 million. The proper question to ask is, did the director villify or glorify the bad behavior?

  12. Cory Mack  •  Jan 16, 2014 at 3:31 pm

    I thought it was outstanding. Reminded me of ‘Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas’, and when I did a little research I learned that the author of ‘Wolf…’ wrote his book using Hunter Thompson’s style, so it made sense.

  13. Paulita  •  Jan 23, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    3single (dot) com is a great site. It also has live chat so you can chat to other people online. Good luck.
    Paulita http://latimes.com

  14. Tim  •  Jan 24, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    I also thought it was outstanding. Captured the excesses extremely well, and was spot on concerning the “over the top” culture of Wall Street.

  15. Mark  •  Jan 30, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    I too love Micheal, but I don’t listen very much to his movie reviews any longer.
    Micheal giving this any stars is beyond the pale and exemplifies my reasons for distancing myself from his reviews…. Scorsese said he wanted to show the profane Wall-street mentality. I believe it also showed the hypocrisy that is ‘Hollyweird’ as they embraced, exploited and wallowed in this garbage.

  16. Robert Power  •  Feb 2, 2014 at 1:30 pm

    Oh, Michael, I was so embarrassed that we brought our wives to this porn film. I was trapped there on a double date and couldn’t leave, and we should have. You minimize the level of debauchery shown in this film, and it has no real purpose in the plot. We don’t need to see full orgies to know that this guy had them – it was much like staring at the mess in the toilet rather than knowing someone in in the toilet. This film should have an NC-17 rating and its DVD handed in a paper bag.
    To me, using debauchery to communicate what could be a good plot is indicative of the lack of skill in storytelling capabilties these days. Scorsese is capable of much more than this. Leonardo diCaprio is also now on my blacklist, as he now is becoming quite the exhibitionist. I’m convinced that his sole purpose in moviemaking to have us look at his bare tookis.

  17. Jeff Davenny  •  Feb 7, 2014 at 8:37 pm

    Michael’s right 95% of the time. I haven’t seen this movie yet, but I know what to expect. And I knew what to expect when I listened to Michael’s review. Seriously, people, Michael made it clear that there was a lot of sex in the film, and that it was not for everyone. Taking a date to this movie is your mistake, not Michael’s. Let the buyer (or viewer) beware!

  18. Marissa  •  Feb 8, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    My question is — is this movie doing anything new? At this point, “white Wall Street conmen experience meteoric rise and disgraceful plummet, as accompanied by prostitutes and drugs; cause us to question our own social values” isn’t new ground to tread. In a year where we had some pretty cool and unusual things happening in mainstream cinema (an animated “princess” movie where the most important relationship was between two sisters, a space thriller whose face was a middle-aged woman, a high-grossing action movie starring a young woman, a sci-fi blockbuster where 2/3 leads were NOT white men, a female buddy-cop movie), this just seems….tired. And honestly, nothing in this review is making me think the movie is going to ask any questions that haven’t been asked a million times, in similar explorations. Pass, sorry.

  19. Linda Lang  •  May 1, 2014 at 10:59 pm

    We got the movie on Netflix – listened to Michael’s review, then read commentary—-I wont be watching it—- by the way, Michael, I love your show !

  20. Linda Lang  •  May 1, 2014 at 11:02 pm

    We got the movie on Netflix – listened to Michael’s review, then I read the comments. I wont be watching it —by the way, Michael, I love your radio program ! Linda Lang

  21. Matthew  •  Feb 28, 2015 at 6:24 am

    A lot of reviews. This move was over-hyped and was relieved to have it finally end. The characters were appalling people and I had no interest in their story. I could have lived without seeing it.

Tell Us What You Think

All fields required. The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. By using this website you agree to accept our Terms of Use.

Medhead - Michael Medved's Premium Content

Login Join
Advertise with us Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Michael

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Get Medved weekly movie reviews, columns, and special offers delivered to your inbox.

Subscribe

The Michael Medved Show - Mobile App

Download from App Store Get it on Google play
Advertisement
Hear what Michael has to say about Health Markets
Advertisement
Advertisement
Michael Medved's History Store Also available on TuneIn